DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hunter's Armory I
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2017 09:47:57

This book is a solid example of books that contain extra content to create a more immersive game. Of course this book is wonderfully laid out (especially after the latest free update). I will note that its not for all games, if a ST feels the game could be bogged down by too many choices this could perhaps prove to be an issue versus a blessing. I personally enjoy the expansion on weapon based combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter's Armory I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buffalo by Night: Player's Guide
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 19:48:36

There is a ton of potential in this book, but there are also some flaws.

The Good

The book has great information on the overall layout of Buffalo for the WOD and that is helpful. There are dozens of characters that seemingly make Buffalo home and these characters are largely interesting. Buffalo is a great WoD city and it is good to have it on display here.

The Great

The locations provided are cool and I could see myself using them in a game. Particularly The Fencing Club and The Lost Chantry. I would use these, potentially in a different city.

The Bad

Layout was done in Word, and the overall quality if the layout makes this not feel like a great value. It's not bad, it just isn't amazing. The text needs an editor, there are small grammar issues throughout and an inconsistent tone. With a solid editing pass and layout in InDesign this could easily get an extra star. There is a solid passion here, and that passion is worth a lot. Formatting made me think this should be labelled a 1st Ed book, but the author noted it was designed for V20.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Buffalo by Night: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Just a quick note: I like the rules 4th edition very very much, but prefer the tone and feel of first and second. Wanted to clarify that. :)
10 Animalistic Features
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 17:29:49

Kudos for absolute, utter and total truth in advertising!

Okay, I'll admit it doesn't deal with some of the consequences of (for example) horns in a Gangrel, such as being mistaken for a Baali. And what about tentacles on ones scalp for a Medusa look? Still, just a fun little thing with a few intriguing details to set off the imagination!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10 Animalistic Features
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

States of Bearing
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 16:15:32

States of Bearing really is a very good idea, imho. I'm happy to include it in my library and its system should at least be available for Storytellers and Players to consider using. For one thing, it harkens back to what I always find most intriguing about this game -- the personal horror. The struggle to retain a sense of self against the internal growling of the Beast.

I do find it overly technical, though. I frankly had to re-read several passages over time to understand them, and it doesn't really go very much into the meanings of different Bearings, which I had hoped it would. Still, well worth the price and (again) plenty useful for those wanting to take these themes seriously!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
States of Bearing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madison by Night
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 11:57:27

Very well done indeed! The look is clean and intriguing, especially with precise and at times almost poetic section headings. More, the "world" of Madison feels consistent, so much so one can easily imagine how to make a character "fit in."

I did wish for more general knowledge about Madison itself, such as the population. More, a tad more background information about the NPCs (all of whom seem very cool in their own ways) would have been nice (like sires). But that is a personal taste.

Overall, an admirable job done with an impressive economy! Many thanks!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madison by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
by markus c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 18:46:34

i liked the other editions. i LOVE this edition! they chamged the game and added some more rules for those of us who like more rules in a game. the system looks really dynamic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

VtM Character Sheets [V20/4th Edition]
by Antonio R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2017 13:32:53

Fichas de otima qualidade e designer impecavel, precisa apenas ajustar os pontos de sangue temporarios que não tem a opção de marcar.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
VtM Character Sheets [V20/4th Edition]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Contagion: The Berlin Chronicles
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2017 21:41:06

Really enjoyed this one - the original Berlin by Night is classic and I loved visiting it again. These type of continuation products are great, wish there were more like it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion: The Berlin Chronicles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clanbook: Jiang Shi
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 14:49:21

A different and intriguing look at an Asian clan/bloodline that could be easy to integrate into a Storyteller's chronicle. I enjoyed and already pondering ways to use the Jiang-Shi.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Jiang Shi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Imperial Mysteries
by Timothy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 17:25:11

There were several good things about this product. It provides options for truly earth-shattering play, and there were some interesting concepts and well written descriptions in chapters one and two .

However, there were also several things about this product that could have been far better. First, this product is really best suited for very small groups with one or two players along with the story teller. The system does not support group play (where group is even 3 players with the story teller) well at all. It gives reasons why archmages do not gather and why they are likely to work at somewhat cross purposes even when nominally allies.

Moreover, the Imperium System provided in the final Appendix is deeply flawed and difficult to make work. To be fair, it states that these are optional rules in a game where all rules are optional. But they are nearly unworkable. The rules state that the Pax Arcana does not apply to Imperium, but these are precisely the things that it seems the Pax Arcana should apply to. More than that, they are exactly the kinds of things you would expect to gain notice from the Exarchs themselves who would move to stop them decisively.

This book is also deeply lacking. In a book that deals with powers that whose mere possession may breed hubris, it only very briefly touches on sins against wisdom (and one of those is not given any explanation). In particularly, it does not discuss the affects of pursuing Imperium on wisdom even though some of the suggested possible goals for Imperium seems like Sins against Wisdom 1. It does provide some example spells for spheres above rank 5, but far too few for my taste when those seem like they should be a major focus and where each rank should last for a substantial amount of time. It gives very short shrift to discussing how an archmage might create artifacts and the type they might create, though that is mentioned in other books repeatedly as something significant archmages do. It also only lightly touches on the kinds of favors an archmage may want from lesser mages and vice versa, though that is an excellent way to introduce archmages to a game. And for a supplement about archmages, it gives few suggestions as to how to create archmage characters for players.

Given what it lacks and the problems with the content that that it does have, I suggest story tellers wishing to play with archmages would be better off creating the rules out of whole cloth rather than even looking to this for inspiration. To be fair, it is a very affordable game book, but I would prefer to pay substnatially more for a higher quality product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Mysteries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunter's Armory III
by Cole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 22:02:20

This book keeps up the quality of the previous two, however, I have a few more gripes with it than the others, particularly in its treatment of the historical weapons presented. I feel that the categories are perhaps too broad, and the differences between weapons that could be classified as “two-handed swords” not particularly well presented. This may be because I have a hobby interest in historical armaments, and know nothing about guns, but I just thought I’d throw it out there. Other than that, it’s a well-made book that presents a lot of interesting rules and equipment choices. I’m practically fond of the 2x4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter's Armory III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review and the support! I think you will be glad to know that this product is scheduled to be updated on 01.10.2018, when a lot more detailed and well presented information will be added, as you suggested. Thanks again and good gaming!
Clanbook Bilquis
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:15:45

I enjoyed the book for I'd estimate 90% of its content. The chapters could use some more restructuring as there is a lot of story based content about individuals and not the Bloodline as a whole. The other thing I noticed that confused me is that there are two level 3 Siren discipline dots. I'm not sure if thats on purpose or not. Aside from this, its a great product with a fun list of new powers to play with and a Bloodline with interesting traits to explore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bilquis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! About the Siren discipline, there are actually two options for level three: Daughters who show a greater inclination toward physical combat are sometimes called "Soldiers" and often learn Stone Queen in their training. Those who learn Throne of Honey are commonly known as "Mothers" and have a more socially oriented role. Technically, a character is able to acquire any of the two powers, as long as she possesses the necessary experience points and history that justifies the acquisition and training in both. I'm writing another update, which will bring the description of a new Path of Enlightening with more detail on this subject. Thanks a lot for the support!
Hunter's Armory I
by Cole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 03:05:59

This is an excellent resource that will no doubt provide plenty of enjoyment for me and my RP group. It provides concise, informative information and is presented in a very pleasing and clear manner, which I hope will be carried through to the second and third volumes. If you are looking to add some realism and interest to the armaments in your WoD chronicles this is a modern and beautiful way to access that information.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter's Armory I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
This book was first released in September 2017 and has since gone through five updates, with new layout and new content added followed by suggestions from you, readers and supporters. Thank you very much and good gaming!
Changeling: the Dreaming Introductory Kit
by Tommaso C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 11:35:20

(sorry for my bad english) Briefly, I found this introductory kit very involving and satisfying. It's only a preview but you can notice the White Wolf is creating a deeper but also lighter rule system, in particular for the Banality and Bedlam system. Faster but all dedicated to roleplaying. Personally there are some general rules (not the Chengeling's rules, but the general system rule of all the new edition) that don't excite me. But as I said, that's personal. This introductory kit convinced me donate them some money in the Kickstarter site. I think White Wolf can really bring back Changelings to their fairy golden age with this! The only "flaw" White Wolf should "correct" is the number of Kiths: add (or bring back) some others!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Dreaming Introductory Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire Stained Glass Grid
by Someone M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 07:39:17

It's just what you see on the cover, the seven coloured grids. The author didn't provide even an introduction explaining what is this useful for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Stained Glass Grid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
The product receive updates and is better in quality and receive the introduction and explanation
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 1863 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates