DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Collection of Horrors: Mr. Thélème
by Samuel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 12:22:31

This is a great look at Mr. Theleme, and I personally find the new castigation very cool. The stats for Franz are very interesting, though I had hoped it would be able to change size as occasionally Franz' silhouette has been mistaken for a human. However, that minor complaint aside, from the audio file to the small amount of new detail on Maman, this is an excellent little scene that works well to introduce Mr. Theleme and Franz to a Chronicle, or to escalate and continue his involvement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Collection of Horrors: Mr. Thélème
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gilded Cage
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2016 20:03:24

Gilded Cage, a sourcebook for Vampire: The Masquerade, takes a look at the opportunity for players to control their ability to use politics and influence. The book is a fairly easy read at 111 pages and its layout is pretty easy to follow. Focusing on one’s personal influence, Gilded Cage exhibits how anyone can become influential, whether you are in janitorial services or the leader of a multibillion-dollar corporation. Not only can you learn to become more influential, but the book also covers some strategy behind climbing the social ladder. What player doesn’t want to become the highest on the social food chain in their local game? Learn how to pull all the strings needed to rules the streets or the business world; it’s your choice.

The key to using Gilded Cage isn’t the exact words on the pages, but instead how one uses the information given to enhance the story they have created. My favorite aspect of role-playing is the opportunity to take any story or concept and make it your own. The ability to make a character a “social butterfly” in the World of Darkness is just as important as how many enemies he/she can take down with a punch or a gunshot.

I like to keep myself aware that Gilded Cage is a sourcebook. Personally, I found it a bit difficult to finish in one sitting. Nonetheless, I also look at that as a good thing, for taking in all that information at once may have been a bit overwhelming. I suggest if you have a tendency of browsing through books for details, that you take a few days to look over the information in detail and then go back and try to read it in a shorter span of time. I found that the second time around, I gathered more from the source than I would reading it only once.

You don’t have to be into Vampire: The Masquerade to understand the information Gilded Cage displays. The book brings up the various social issues that we see in every day life, yet incorporates them nicely in the World of Darkness. All gamers should at least keep in mind that there are many ways to play a character. So if you think you have what it takes to be your clan’s leader or you just want to swindle your way to the top, Gilded Cage could be your guide to being the leader of your Vampire community.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gilded Cage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 16:18:45

The game is a good game. I wanted a back up copy of the game, so I checked out the preview pages of the pdf and all looked good. Too bad the file that I downloaded didn't match the quality of the preview AT ALL. Scan lines and worse on my copy ( I tried to download more than once), but not on the preview. Questionable...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 13:48:22

Sometimes authors give writing a great story everything they got. Sometimes that takes a backseat to an agenda. I think the writer is talented and I think the story had potential but I can’t get through it. I’m just not interested in the characters. I think the author was probably guided to force diversity into the story and it just did not work. I don’t mean racial diversity BTW, I mean cultural diversity. We’re talking ghettos, gangsters, and Carthians here. The characters don’t hold my interest and half way through the book, I just give up. I make no apologies for not being genuinely interested in the story. That’s not a choice, it’s a reality. The first book in the series was great. Rather than take the first book further, this story tries to take the setting in a new direction … without me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 12:40:19

This is the table top Vampire game to play, hands down. This version of Vampire the Masquerade beats Vampire the Requiem 2nd Edition! Here is why.

I have played Vampire the Requiem extensively. The new second edition of Vampire the Requiem has alienated me. The art was trashy and cheap, the rules for experience and progression are stupid, rebalancing of disciplines resulted in more confusion and unbalance, and the game feels goofier and more unpolished than ever. Even though there are some positive changes to the new VtR2e, the game plays more awkward than ever. So I thought to myself, it’s time to learn about my options. And that is why VtM20th got my consideration.

My reservations have always been that the system is too old with too much baggage and outdated mechanics that won’t play as clean and smooth as first edition nWoD games did. My reservations were justified to some degree. The game still feels a little dusty. Some of the mechanics are a bit clunky feeling and could diffidently be cleaner. But the book is beautiful, the setting is ruthlessly wonderful, and the game is even better than I remember it being. I have been running a game for about 8 full nights now and I am really enjoying it. The community that supports this game is still very alive. The setting has been very well cleaned up. The rules make more sense than ever. Some of the things that initially bothered me either didnt bother me as much as I thought they would when we played or I have found a solution in the rules that I did not notice at first. The disciplines seem more balanced than I remember. Combat is a bit too cumbersome but the more I get used to it the more this is not an issue for me.

It’s not perfect and I do miss some of my favorite aspects of VtR (first edition.) But this game has not faded away at all. Its community is thriving and the game has been refined yet preserved.

In the end, games like this are about role play. This game’s role play experience is great. This feels like the quintessential vampire game that has colored our culture for the last 20+ years. That’s what VtR2e is missing. While playing this game, I keep getting this feeling that, this is it; this is what our generation's Vampire mythology is. It’s been thought out and vetted for eternity.

I think VtR has some issues it will need to work through for the next ten year cycle. While it works that out, I’ll be happily playing VtM.

As for the book, it’s big. I mean, in real life, this damn thing is HUGE. My first “premium” book had binding problems. DTRPG sent me out a new one right away. They are great to work with and I’m pleased that they handle problems quickly and kindly. But I don’t think the quality of the binding is very good for a $100 book. Other than the binding being stressed by the page count, the book is absolutely beautiful. I’m not sure that the premium version is worth the extra money though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2016 19:35:50

I was a little concerned about the binding on such a large book, but it is high quality and stands up to regular use.

I love having all of the pertinent information in one volume now, as opposed to having to search through dozens of supplements to find that one path I saw like 4 years ago.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel Saga, Volume 2: The Eye of Gehenna (Novel)
by Jamie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 14:32:18

This PDF book is in an Image format and thus impossible to get on to Kindle as it can't be sent by email as the file is so massive. Instead of being about 3MB its 100MB in size. Please resize it to something sensible. It can't be that hard for who ever has the original?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel Saga, Volume 2: The Eye of Gehenna (Novel)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Laws of the East
by Jacob V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 23:56:08

I am very pleased that I made this purchase. I am currently running a Kindred of the East Chronicle, and found that the MET sourcebook had additional information that does not show up in tabletop-only sourcebooks. As well, the pdf is crisp and clear, a very high quality and easy to navigate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the East
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gilded Cage
by Sam M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2015 14:33:18

Gilded Cage, while fluff-heavy, is a solid book. It delivers exactly what it promises, that is, a guide to influencing mortal society from a vampiric perspective. It has a few broad pieces of advice - mainly that subtlety is key, that it's best to have your finger in several pies, and that the use of Disciplines is a blunt-force option and a last resort - and reinforces them in its more in-depth looks at how a smart neonate can exploit and thrive within different areas of society. The main four looked at are: the business world, in particular major corporations; the upper-crust of society; the branches of government, local and federal; and 'the streets', the domain of blue-collar workers, street gangs and the destitute. Each of these gets a chapter to itself, while a fifth chapter examines several less central ones such as academia, the media, and organized religion. Finally chapter six (barely longer than an appendix) provides advice for working the socio-political structure of a city into storytelling and character creation, as well as a section on how to flesh out Backgrounds and logically tie them together rather than leaving them as just vague and abstract numbers on a sheet.

Where the book really shines is its wide utility. It is useful to both players and storytellers, essentially giving the same advice to both - it reminds us that anything the neonates can do, the elders can often do better. Its tone, which is in-universe though not deeply so, speaks equally to a player and storyteller reader in such a way that it is cogent, useful information, but also manages captures the feel for how Kindred generally view mortals and mortal society from a political angle. As well as a broad look at how each level of urban society can be harnessed, specific examples are provided which paint how its advice would practically work within a chronicle.

The book isn't perfect, of course. It definitely has a bias - though not an overwhelming one - towards American-set, Camarilla, neonate-led chronicles. The Sabbat does get a look-in, though the Anarchs don't to any significant degree. This is not too much of a problem since its tone and mood are geared towards these sorts of chronicles, and most of the advice given is fairly general. This applies also to geographic setting - while it is American in tone, much of the content is equally applicable to most of the Western world. In games set outside of Europe or North America it might be less useful, though not useless by any means.

Being just under 15 years old, the book is understandably somewhat out of date, particularly when it comes to technology and the Internet; if Gilded Cage were published today it would likely devote a whole chapter to these. More recent V20 sourcebooks have done so however, and it's really the only area the book is lacking in from today's viewpoint - though of course it came out in 2001, so this really isn't a mark against the book itself. If you are planning to run or play in a political, city-based Vampire chronicle, this book is well worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gilded Cage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heresies of the Way
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 19:47:16

This is an excellent book as of all of White Wolf although I would rescan it if possible for some pages have a dark background and it seems the font used doesn't show clearly as other books from the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heresies of the Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow War
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 19:46:28

This is an excellent book as of all of White Wolf although I would rescan it if possible for some pages have a dark background and it seems the font used doesn't show clearly as other books from the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: Book of the Dead
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 22:04:57

A very good supplement for Geist with the addition of being useful for other lines.

This book includes a few Merits, and other Player tools, but is primarily an expansion on the deep underworld.

The storyteller hooks scattered throughout the various chapters are solid. The various samples of Deep Domains along with the "Laws" is extremely helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Book of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orpheus: Crusade of Ashes
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 15:09:42

A great follow-up to the Orpheus core book. This supplement introduces the first real twist in the Orpheus metaplot, and really shakes things up.

For those not necessarily interested in the metaplot, the book also introduces rules for group merits and temporary Artifacts (the spiritual impression of items that have had been invested with human emotion).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus: Crusade of Ashes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strangeness in the Proportion
by Ryan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 08:01:56

I didn't want to follow the crowd and give this book five stars. I wanted to be realistic. Bring a critical eye to the table. But...Mother Hubbard! This is a good story. A great one! And, honestly, when I look at some elements of it, that sort of surprises me. Right off the bat, you see what would appear to be that overly complex Look At How Big My Vocabulary Is writing style. And references to Poe? Hot Topic left a very sour taste in my mouth in regards to such things. And yet...for these and other potential pitfalls, the author manages to justify them. Tropes that you'd assume are cliché or trite feel, much like Simon Meeks himself, entirely genuine. I will admit that the dialogue is often too complex and witty to read like natural speech, but even that is a small criticism compared to just how clever and fun and moving that dialogue can be. There are so many characters and concepts in this book that are so wonderful they make me mad. For, now that I've read of them, I can't think of them on my own. And oh, how I wish I had, for even a scant handful of them! A story like this could have turned out an absolute mess. It clearly took great skill to keep a firm hold of the reins, but author and editors, somehow, manage just that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clanbook Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Aldo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2015 13:57:51

Great sourcebooks for a excellent game!

Everything you would need or fear is in this clanbooks. They expand the lore presented in VtM corebook. Extra merits, extra info & diferents views to play the same clan, you love & care (or hate & fear). If you're a completionist this is the bundle you need. Take it & join the masquerade



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 1679 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates