DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2013 13:02:40

Better than the modern day confusing attempt. A good description of what befell the local kindred at the fall of New Rome. Insightful and a bit of a rollercoaster ride of one's attempt to maintain the dream....despite the treachery of the time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Promethean: The Created
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 22:59:00

I purchased both the original book used from a third party seller and this print on demand from drive-thru rpg. The content of the book itself (both versions) is great and many reviewers have said it better than myself so I'll leave you to read those reviews. This review deals with the quality of the print on demand as compared with the original.


I purchased the soft back version so I cannot really comment to the sturdiness of this version compared to original hardback. The softback is about as sturdy as a softback can get. The spine is sturdy and strong. The pages are well secured, do not appear to be in danger of falling out and the glue used to secure the pages appears to be of high quality. Given that, I have no complaints and feel I got what I paid for.


As to the quality of the print; of course there is the obligatory blank space around the edges and I received fair warning about its existence so I was not surprised or unhappy about it being there.


I did notice that the front cover artwork actually appeared MORE vibrant than the original. The original seemed to be printed on a hard back with a grey-silverish sheen, this was printed on white so that may explain the difference. The internal print was easy to read and did not appear to suffer from being scanned. However, the artwork, which was originally done in a purple-ish blue ink is now black and white and seems to have suffered a bit, but it is far from intolerable so I can deal with it.


As said before, I purchased both the original and this. The original cost me about $60 in considerably used condition. I bought it because I'm one of those types the MUST own the original if I can secure a copy. However, many people simply will not pony up $60 for a well used copy and certainly won't be wanting to pay a hundred or more for a new-ish copy so the print on demand fills a nice gap there with the hard back being around $35 (much cheaper). Secondly, by purchasing this version, your money goes to White Wolf who, in my opinion, deserve it. It's a great game and drive thru rpg provides a great service by making it available at an affordable price. I will be purchasing again.


Thank you WW and DTRPG.
-Bill



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean: The Created
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Kindred Most Wanted (WW2230)
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 14:40:33

Classic product, with interesting characters, but also a poorly scanned file, and that's why I'll give it only two stars.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Kindred Most Wanted (WW2230)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Illara S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 17:10:54

The book is hardly a novel and more a novella, in part because it isn't meant to be read alone but as a whole in a series of thirteen. So you can get away with the shortness of it. Because of the nature of the series it focuses on the viewpoint (for the most part) of two of the Toreador clan and because of this there is a slight bogged down over indulgence in the appreciation of art and the symbolism around it, but what did you expect from a clan of vampires who pride themselves on appreciation of such things. Reading this book cannot be taken alone however and the larger events covered you only get a sliver of understanding, which hopefully is expanded in the other books but given you aren't as focused on order of events & more trying to be character driven, and it's not that strong as there isn't much time to know the characters. Hopefully as the other perspectives come into focus (by reading their books) it will make a larger sense of the machinations involved, and the characters involved get more fleshed out being seen by others. The compilation books I understand give more of a backstory and being more chronological you can see the characters as pieces from a grander perspective being moved around. But I worried I would be lost in trying to keep track of everyone involved so I felt this might be a better way to read the books. Later Ill do the compilations to focus more on order of events as opposed to characters.


Side Note: There is a constant reference to the events in the Trilogy of the Blood Curse but it is not really that important to this story beyond knowing it happened.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Finders (Hunter: The Vigil)
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 07:23:07

An excellent supplement, and within its limits, perhaps the most easily approachable of the Hunter supplements. It's problem is the lack of flexibility inherent in Witch design under the magic system portrayed. This is a trade-off for avoiding the complexity of MAGE.


Overall, it is well written, coherent, and has few head scratching or reread moments compared to say Spirit Slayers



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Finders (Hunter: The Vigil)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness Rulebook
by Anders L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2012 13:47:48

This is one of the best roleplaying game's I've ever played. It basically fixes everything that was wrong with the oWoD and updates the rules to fit into a much neater and standardized setting. Aside from some of the artwork not measuring up to the standard the rest of the book sets, the text is wonderful and easy to read. The rules are clear and it's not often you find yourself wondering what they mean.


I recommend this both for the grittyness of the rules and the realism of the rules.


The bookmarks however are... horrible. For a purchased PDF, there should be -far- more bookmarks than one can find in this book. One for each chapter is not by far enough. DriveThruRpg should really work on getting a few more bookmarks in there. As it stands right now, I'm going to have to add them myself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
by Matija P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2012 10:33:46

This is probably the best roleplaying system ever devised. We have been playing the 2ed and 3ed for 5 years now, playing d&d before that for at least 10.


Even though the book focuses on anime, the rules themselves can be applied to anything. We do not play anime themed campaigns, instead we at first used it to run a typical D&D 3.5ed campaign. Except the focus got removed from killing things and taking their stuff into actual heroics and character development. What it should have been about all along.


Only thing you should avoid in this system is the dynamic powers attribute, it has been planted there as a "catch all" exception handler, and it is seriously not necessary. Power flux does the job just as well.


My group became very evangelical about this rules system, and we converted quite a few other gaming groups to it, once they gotten over the "I am not being railroaded" shock.
Simply said, new players try to look at attributes, then make their character after them (as they used to do in D&D, by picking a class, then tailoring a personality to fit that class), while in BESM you first make a personality, and then it is a simple measure of picking attributes to go with it.


The game avoids numerous issues in other roleplaying systems, and doesn't introduce any issues of its own, except perhaps the need for someone to guide you through the book initially (depending on how quick you are to figure things out). The system looks very daunting at first glance, but once you get the basics down, it is the easiest system ever to work with.


I am almost always a DM, and no other system ever let me create opponents as unique and interesting as this. Players claim the same for their character concepts, you are absolutely not limited by anything but your imagination. Also, characters do not grow as "tall, thin pillars" as they do in systems like D&D, instead they become more and more versatile, which avoid the horror of having each character play its own small part, while others wait, that is so common in D&D and similar systems.


All in all, get this, and play any campaign of any style you can possibly imagine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nights of Prophecy
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2012 12:28:59

The Good:




  1. It's not a scanned file, but a OEF file.




  2. If you plan on using Masquerade's metaplot, buy it. However, the best thing about this book is not using the metaplot's events per si, but making their consequences influence your current plot.



  3. It opens with the metaplot's summary. It's superficial, but enough, considering the page count.


The Bad:




  1. There's much more going on beyond the destruction of Baba Yaga, the Cathayan offensive or the discovery of a new passage of the BoN in Montreal. The book is a collection of different stories, and not a comprehensive look at the metaplot.



  2. It would be nice to have more about of the Last Nights' movers and shakers, like those in the by Night series and in Children of the Night. I mean, how about stating how each plot could draw the attention of the Camarilla's luminaries and Sabbat's leaders?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nights of Prophecy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scroll of Fallen Races
by Demian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2012 12:25:26

Demian loves this as he is role playing will be hearing more about when I see him



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scroll of Fallen Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunter: The Vigil
by Jon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2012 13:54:56

The book itself is excellent, one of the best products White Wolf has produced. Has a load of rules and whatnot for normal mortals in WOD. If you're buying a physical copy to complete your collection, I will warn that this book's pages are straight-up printer paper bound in a hardcover. So, when I put it up on the shelf next to all the other amazing white wolf sourcebooks, I cannot help but weep at the difference in quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Vigil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Children of the Night
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 12:13:41

I really like to read about famous Kindred/Cainites, and its a shame books like Children of the Inquisition and The Kindred Most Wanted got poor scanned copies. I know scanned copies are not supposed to be as good as Original Electronic Files, but there are good scanned files and bad scanned files.


Luckily, CotN is not even scanned, its OEF.


CotN is a great book, not only because you can introduce notorious bastards into your chronicle, but because you can understand what's going on in the WoD. Each character has a agenda, and each agenda moves the metaplot.


It's even better if you're running a Sabbat chronicle, specially for those set in Mexico. CotN + Mexico City by Night make a great combo, really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 12:12:32

The definitive edition of Vampire the Masquerade. Many rules loopholes that have been noticed over the last two decades were addressed in an elegant fashion. This is a must have for anyone with a great love of the World of Darkness or Vampires in general.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Ages: Vampire
by Bethany P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2012 17:24:24

I bought this book in hardback and it was worth the extra money - the pages are beautifully printed and incredibly clear. Really worth having!
Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Vampire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Blood
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2012 12:38:16

The Blood is a series of essays by 3 of Requiem's most renowned developers, each chapter deconstructs the Kindred curse in exhaustive detail. This expansion for the Storytelling System's Requiem line takes on an aspect of being a player in the Vampire game. The basic conceit of this book is that the drama of personal horror is in the players' hands; the Storyteller is there to lead her players in situations and characters against the backdrop of gothic horror stories.


This book is expanded into three "essays", each written by a different Requiem developer. Each chapter covers a different set of rules from the Vampire: the Requiem core rulebook (character creation, vitae and other mechanics, and the psychology of a Vampire's unlife respectively). The intent is to give the mechanics of the games more emotional depth for a player to work with. If you are going to really play a vampire, how can you start to identify with one?


Chapter 1 is Kindred Characters: This section is probably the most practically useful. It covers each step of character creation, but where the core rulebook covers the "what" of the character's attributes, this chapter digs into the "Why". Why does this character have Social Attributes over Physical? Why does she have a higher Blood Potency than normal? Why did this group of vampires get thrown together?


This section gets past the "dots" on the character sheet. It gives a player a lot more to think about as far as character cohesion and story hooks to give the Storyteller that resonate with the player. Rich stories come from rich backgrounds, and the Kindred Characters chapter gives players plenty of tools to add depth to her character before the first Scene even begins.


Chapter 2 is Properties of the Blood
This chapter deconstructs the essense of the vampire physiognomy. It is an exhaustive and in-depth analysis of the mechanics of the game that the players would use every night: each rule for vitae is described from a story perspective. What is each stage of the Vinculum (enslavement through a blood bond) like? How do different kinds of vampires choose to use it? What does it feel like to use blood to fuel Disciplines or to heal wounds? What about feeding?


This section also covers the non-mechanical aspects of other non-vitae systems like Torpor, Frenzy and Humanity.


More than any other chapter in this book "Properties of the Blood" vividly illustrates how the various rules detailed in the core rulebook can be dramatized in play.


Chapter 3 is Vampire Psychology
This chapter painstakingly details the essense of the Kindred mind, deconstructing rule concepts of the vampire's mindset. This section proves very useful as it gives a Storyteller a list of all of the events to weave into each character's chronicle, and for the player it describes what impacts it could have on her psyche.


This chapter also expands on vampire Disciplines and the psychological impact of each power, dot by dot, with an emphasis on the related Derangements that could develop with inappropriate use. The principal goal of this section is to give the players more options to wring every drop of drama from each game mechanic.


While this book is strictly for the "storyteller" and "method actor" gamer types, it can be used by both. Since my role is strictkly in the "storyteller" camp of gamer, I have found this book indispensible. One of the biggest challenges with any game is dramatizing the game's mechanics in a meaningful and entertaining way. This books is an exciting foray into taking game mechanic concepts and translating them into meaningful story seeds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon: The Fallen
by Dean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2012 05:29:21

I have sampled at a few different core guides and now I have finally found my first White Wolf game world that I will explore in depth. I find it a bit surprising but Demon the Fallen is the way forward, along with the World of Darkness core book (since they all depend upon that book). It would be quite an experience as a player if you had little foreknowledge to have this information about all kinds of evil suddenly thrust at you. It might be a challenge to the religion. It should be a blast. I am not sure how stable most people are in this day and age in this department. The one thing that I noticed in other game worlds is that the writers attempt to create a plausible argument for accepting the possibility in reality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1625 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates