DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ascension's Right Hand
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2013 09:31:35

I got this book strictly for the Numia material to expand on the poorly written rules in Hunter's Hunted. I'm not sure how this reads as a Mage Book but as a WoD supplement to the mortal material I liked it a lot. The Numia rules are much better explained here, more clearly written and in the case of the Hedge Magic, expanded on nicely. If you are looking for Numia rules for your mortal characters I recommend Ascension's Right Hand over Hunter's Hunted. Still, if you are not playing mage I'd wait for it to on sale the Numia rules only cover a single chapter and are not worth 9 dollars. If you are not looking to play mage you can get decent Numia powers out of Project Twilight and the material is more relevant to the World of Darkness as a whole instead of just mage so I'd pick that up first and wait for a sale.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Right Hand
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monte Cook's World of Darkness
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 11:12:59

I'll get right down to it, WoD is too much for one book. This book gives an alternate setting for WoD with new themes and feelings and it is simply way to much for the limited page count here. While Monte Cook does his best, and what you have in this book is good I don't think it is nearly enough. This product seems to me will really only will appeal to people who already know WoD given how obscure it is, but since this is the ONLY book on this setting I think most WoD will want more depth and rich RP material that Monte Cook was able to compress into this volume. This might be good as a stepping stone to try and introduce a D&D group to the WoD but otherwise I can't see playing D20 WoD over normal WoD.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monte Cook's World of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: Combat
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 11:02:51

If you think WoD needs to run a bit more like D&D this is your book. While the combat options are decent, they are a bit clunky so expect to spend a fair bit of time, characters points and effort in combat if you want to include this module. WoD:Combat is well written dropping the RP fluff and getting right down to combat details to give you most you can get out of an RPG book but it mostly feels unnecessary for WoD so I'm not sure you will get your money's worth out of it as I can't see using these combat rules with very many stories.

Exalted or D&D are much better suited to more battle heavy games with volumes of combat oriented material written for them. While WoD:Combat does add a bit of spice with new combat abilities and more detailed mechanics it still pales in comparison to games built around combat. I think for most people added extra combat rules to the World of Darkness will feel unnecessary as that isn't really what WoD is all about it. I'd wait for this one to go on sale if you really want the extra combat options with the exception if you are planning on playing Demon Hunter X which I feel will benefit most from WoD:Combat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Project Twilight
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 10:51:00

A solid book for people looking to run a character as part of the government in the World of Darkness. Usually the government is only brought up as being manipulated by the Kindred so these are a lot of good insight into human affairs in this book. The book focus on the USA and is sufficiently different Japan's from Strike Force Zero in Demon Hunter X that it stands on its own even if you already own that book. While most will prefer to play vampires, this book is a must for people looking to play a more average human fighting the good fight rather than a SFO cyber spy, Chi powered martial artist or a Supernatural style rogue hunter driving across the USA in an Impala with the Imbued power. The one downside to this book is it occasionally directs you to get more information from "Hunters Hunted" for a handful of paragraphs in that book which touched the FBI.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Project Twilight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orpheus: Haunting the Dead (Novel)
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/17/2013 10:25:01

Haunting the Dead features four novellas set in White Wolf’s World of Darkness featuring characters from the Orpheus game line. This is a break from the usual format that White Wolf uses when releasing a new game. Usually there is a fiction anthology featuring several short stories. The novellas in Haunting the Dead allow for more character development and (as with any good ghost story) more plot twists. This was a great idea and I hope White Wolf continues his trend.

The first story, The Grass is Always Greener, by Stefan Petrucha, is the best of the bunch. This story introduces the reader to the world of Orpheus without forcing pages of information down our throats. The author takes through the mind of the main character as she deals with her inner demons while hanging out with a band of misfits. The tension continues up to the very end of the tale, keeping the reader hooked and wanting more. A difficult tale to follow, The Grass is Always Greener, starts off Haunting the Dead with a bang.

The other three stories in Haunting the Dead follow the game material a little more closely than The Grass is Always Greener, featuring the adventures of Orpheus Agents (the type of characters you’d play in the RPG). Eurydice, by Seth Lindberg, is a good tale, but it probably would have made a better full-length novel. It does feature a creepy villain that fans are still discussing on the various Orpheus boards on the web. Dia de los Muertos, by Allen Rausch, and Corridors, by Rick Chillot, are good fiction, and fit the world of Orpheus well…they just are not on the same level as The Grass is Always Greener and to a lesser extent Eurydice.

My hat goes off to Becky Jollensten, who did the cover and book design for Haunting the Dead. Most readers don’t notice these little details, but she did a great job with this book. The design adds just a bit of extra style, complimenting the novellas inside.

This book ties in well with the Orpheus game supplements, but is enjoyable by those who have no knowledge of the game. A great collection of talented authors that should set the standard for new material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus: Haunting the Dead (Novel)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dust to Dust
by Andrés M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2013 15:51:36

Sometimes we storytellers get out of ideas or we just don't have the time to create a short story out of the blue. And this can be even more difficult if we didn't play Vampire in a while. Thankfully we have Dust to Dust. A short story with interesting characters, a good location and a couple of plot twists that will really get into the characters.

In Dust to Dust we have to visit the decaying city of Gary, Indiana. We will get into an ongoing vendetta between a forsaken Prince and a bored anarch. But things will get really messed up when not one but two tinkerers of the dead come to town. Oh, and a bad ass vampire hunter.

If you need a story to fill up or start your chronicle, or perhaps to play a one shot at a convention, Dust to Dust will be perfect for the job!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dust to Dust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2013 10:48:08

This is an amazing product. All the rules are in one place so that gameplay doesn't have to stop while someone digs out some obscure book, all the clans, sects, bloodlines, and powers are here so that frugal players can grab it and have whatever they need. The only downside is that some of the art leaves a little to be desired, but most of the art is phenomenal. If you like V:tM, cWoD, or just White Wolf, pick this up. If you like vampires in general, pick this up, find a group, and embark on the adventure of a lifetime. I got it to replace a revised Core Rulebook that was stolen from me years ago, and I'm almost glad it was stolen now. I got the B&W softcover from Drive Thru, and the quality is amazing. They say there's a thin white edge on all the pages, but it's not a big deal at all. You barely notice it, and the binding is pretty good too. Buy this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunter: The Reckoning
by John E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 16:50:25

We bought this as a supplement to our game as we only had 2 hard covers. This works great on computer but especially the ipad.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Reckoning
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghouls
by Jack E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 15:25:53

I was sucked in by the prologue: the story is simple, it's a day in the life of a ghoul named Ward, told through a series of time stamped entries.

I found the book describe ghouls in an unsettling human way, but the book also hammered home the point that ghouls are ghouls first, humans second. I found it oddly enlightening. I hope to capture the sort of feeling this book captured in its prologue in future games I run with ghouls. I think that's a good testament to this book's standard. I found the systems in the books interesting, especially in regards to ghoul families. It's very detailed and thought-provoking throughout.

Finally I like the overall quality and usefulness of the book. I like this book enough it's one of the few books I feel bothered to write a review about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghouls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Space Fantasy
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:15:28

Great supplement. I love having no limit to the variety of races BESM allows. This is just one more easy access way to expand character creation choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Space Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Fantasy Bestiary
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:13:45

This is a great supplement! I love having the versatility of so many race choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Fantasy Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Character Diary
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:12:18

Haven't used this yet, but the set up is great. Plan to use it soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Character Diary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:10:43

The game is great. Too bad it's out of print as our local game shop would offer them for sale if they were available in paperback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Jorge C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 06:28:56

No podría estar más contento con el manual, es increíble, un regalo para la vista.

Por ello, es todavía más triste que el envío y el servicio de atención al cliente me hayan dado tantos problemas. Según se me informó, el libro salió de su destino (Reino Unido) el día 1 de abril, y me ha llegado hoy, 3 de mayo, un mes después. Dos veces contacté con DriveThruRPG, las dos veces me dijeron que había habido un problema con los datos que tenía la empresa de reparto, y las dos veces di mi dirección completa y mi número de teléfono personal, ta y como me solicitaban. Finalmente, hoy recibí una llamada de dicha empresa de reparto, y me dijeron que habían conseguido mi teléfono buscando mi nombre en internet y llamando a mi antiguo lugar de trabajo, y tuve que darles de palabra mi dirección completa, cuando yo contaba con que DriveThruRPG se hubiera encargado de esto.

Espero que haya sido un malententido aislado y que el servicio y de atención al cliente y/o el servico de envío no sea tan deficiente como a mí me ha parecido, porque, repito, la calidad del producto, de la impresión y del encuadernado, es increíble.

Muchas gracias.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Werewolf The Wild West
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 22:30:27

This is a great book. All the information you need for setting your Werewolf campaign during the 19th century. The book has many built-in rivalries, giving the impression of the tribes killing each other much more often than working together.

New Gifts, and Rites. And the mechanics of this match up with Werewolf 3rd edition. Starting with no character concept, I found the description of the tribes, and examples of common members, to be very inspiring with character concept and generation coming together very fast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf The Wild West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1693 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates