DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Three Pillars
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 13:45:34

Not as essential as other DA tittles, but if you can, buy it. It was poorly scanned, but we can always hope DrivethruRPG staff will update it's file, right?


Three Pillars not only summarizes what you need to know about the Dark Medieval's society, it shows how it relates to Cainites. It covers the nobles, the clergy and the 99%.


TP It's useful enough, specially because it explores the inner workings of each group of people. It make you (player of storyteller) improve the story's verisimilitude. Even better, it shows how Cainites embraced from different ranks of society differ from each other, and how they interact with each rank.


Even if you know enough about medieval society, you can always enjoy the last chapter. It details Italy and its Cainites. It would be great to have Italy by Night, but this chapter is the next better thing. Why Italy? Italy is a "anomaly of the feudal system", with rich commoners entering the ranks of the urban upper classes and nobles engaging in the mercantile business. The conflicting groups within each of the Italian cities make the political arena unpredictable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Three Pillars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Iberia by Night
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 13:30:04

It would be nice to have more Vampire: the Dark Ages books with IbN's scanning. Is it really scanned? It looks like the original electronic file.


DrivethruRPG staff, if you're reading this review, make Iberia by Night the quality standard for you all Vampire: the Dark Ages products.


Now, Iberia by Night makes me think about all other great tittles that need better scanning. I'm talking about Dark Ages Europe, Transylvania by Night, House of Tremere, the Ashen books, the whole Libellus Sanguinis series, both the Capaddocian and Salubri clanbooks and others.


Why I'm talking about other titles? Well, because its hard to own only a single Dark Ages setting/story book. IbN details the Shadow Reconquista, something that affects Clan Lasombra as a whole, from Iberia to Outremer. Also, it affects most Christian and Muslim Cainites, even those cynical enough to use the wars of Reconquista for political gain. The Iberian cities (both Christian and Muslim) presented in IbN were, during the 12th and 13th centuries, the centers of dynamic societies that attracted people from both sides of the Mediterranean. I can say the same about local Cainites. The place has Cainite Knightly order, its own branch of the Cainite Heresy and many other examples of Iberia's local character. It brings something different from the archetypal middle ages. It's almost exotic, from the Anglo-Saxon/Northwestern European point of view. If you want to run a different thing, give it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iberia by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cainite Heresy
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 13:10:39

Its not fair to release Cainite Heresy in such a poor scanned file. The text looks faded and blurred. It's just sad.


Anyway, you can buy it and wait for the updated file (I hope they update it).


5 stars book, but in terms of content only. It needs a better scanning.


Now to contents.


It not only covers the Heresy proper, but the heretic mindset and the phenomenon of heresy in the middle ages. It makes for a nice combo with Ashen Cults and Ashen Knight.


About the Cainite Heresy... if you want them as antagonists or characters (for mature roleplaying, of course), buy this book. What makes the Heresy such a adversary? It is insidious and omnipresent, and it's a enemy much more interesting than mere devil worshipers. How can you say the Heretics are wrong? It's a matter of faith. That's their greatest strength, since they lack nothing in faith.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cainite Heresy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fountains of Bright Crimson
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 13:06:59

My advice is to buy it now and wait for the updated file. Yes, it is poorly scanned, with blurred text (like its gray, not black), but the contents are great.


Act I is called the "Trouble with Tremere", what else can I say (if you own House of Tremere you know I'm talking about)? It also involves one of the Clan Founders (yeah, shut up and take my money kind of stuff).


It's a standalone story, but it brings numerous hooks and plot devices, elements you can use for years of storytelling. If you also own Jerusalem by Night and Veil of Night (and maybe Dark Ages Europe) you can also run any kind of Middle-Eastern story from 1197 to 1230.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fountains of Bright Crimson
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jerusalem by Night
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 13:04:47

Poorly scanned, a pitty. The text is blurred and faded. Some pages are not straight.


My advice? Buy it now and wait for the updated file.


When we talk about Masquerade (Revised) setting books, like Mexico City by Night or New York by Night, we know we're dealing with material that can always be transplanted, adapted and used according the the storyteller's need. I can say the same about Jerusalem by Night. Any Dark Ages chronicle can benefit from Jerusalem.


Jerusalem is Dark Age's spiritual core, and as a spiritual center, its seen as the world's geographical center. Any Christian or Muslim Cainite should think about Jerusalem from time to time, or even attempt peregrination once. The conflicts between crusaders and the local powers also make for great social and political chronicles (and martial chronicles, obviously



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jerusalem by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bitter Crusade
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 13:00:50

Great book, but poorly scanned (the text acquired a grayish quality).


Give it a try anyway, specially because Drivethru folks will (eventually) update the file.


There some books I consider essential to understand the Dark Ages line, and Bitter Crusade is one of the (the others being Constantinople by Night, Transylvania by Night and Under the Black Cross).


Bitter Crusade update the setting, explaining why (and how) everything changed after 1204, and why the War of Princes gained so much momentum. It covers three years of plotting and treachery, scenarios that can be used as a trilogy or as standalone stories. Also, it brings a healthy amount of information on Italy and Italian Cainites (if you want more, buy Three Pillars).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bitter Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Transylvania by Night
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 12:21:43

5 stars book, but in terms of content only. It needs a better scanning. There are good scanned files and bad scanned files, and Transylvania fits in the later.


The text looks faded and blurred. It's just sad. Anyway, you can buy it and wait for the updated file (I hope they update it).


Now to contents.


What can I say? Great book! It not only covers Transylvania, but also Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria and Kievan Rus.


The events in Transylvania dictate the pace of most of Dark Ages' metaplot, and even if you do not use the official storyline, its filled with great storyteller characters and plot seeds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Transylvania by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

House of Tremere
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 12:14:54

5 stars book, but only in terms of content. I needs a better file, scanned or otherwise. There are good scanned files and bad scanned files, and unhappily House of Tremere could have been done better. Now that I have it, I'll have wait for the upgraded file.


The text looks faded and blurred, that's the worst about it.


Now to its contents.


Like most of Dark Ages line, House of Tremere is a great addition to any collection. Some can even argue a book on Ceoris it's not really useful, but think about it, HoT covers the internal dog eat dog politics of the Tremere, the movers and shakers that will affect the Clan as a whole. Also, Tremere are a new clan, with only a few members, and the events happening in Ceoris can (and will) affect any characters, wherever she is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
House of Tremere
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2013 13:02:40

Better than the modern day confusing attempt. A good description of what befell the local kindred at the fall of New Rome. Insightful and a bit of a rollercoaster ride of one's attempt to maintain the dream....despite the treachery of the time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Promethean: The Created
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 22:59:00

I purchased both the original book used from a third party seller and this print on demand from drive-thru rpg. The content of the book itself (both versions) is great and many reviewers have said it better than myself so I'll leave you to read those reviews. This review deals with the quality of the print on demand as compared with the original.


I purchased the soft back version so I cannot really comment to the sturdiness of this version compared to original hardback. The softback is about as sturdy as a softback can get. The spine is sturdy and strong. The pages are well secured, do not appear to be in danger of falling out and the glue used to secure the pages appears to be of high quality. Given that, I have no complaints and feel I got what I paid for.


As to the quality of the print; of course there is the obligatory blank space around the edges and I received fair warning about its existence so I was not surprised or unhappy about it being there.


I did notice that the front cover artwork actually appeared MORE vibrant than the original. The original seemed to be printed on a hard back with a grey-silverish sheen, this was printed on white so that may explain the difference. The internal print was easy to read and did not appear to suffer from being scanned. However, the artwork, which was originally done in a purple-ish blue ink is now black and white and seems to have suffered a bit, but it is far from intolerable so I can deal with it.


As said before, I purchased both the original and this. The original cost me about $60 in considerably used condition. I bought it because I'm one of those types the MUST own the original if I can secure a copy. However, many people simply will not pony up $60 for a well used copy and certainly won't be wanting to pay a hundred or more for a new-ish copy so the print on demand fills a nice gap there with the hard back being around $35 (much cheaper). Secondly, by purchasing this version, your money goes to White Wolf who, in my opinion, deserve it. It's a great game and drive thru rpg provides a great service by making it available at an affordable price. I will be purchasing again.


Thank you WW and DTRPG.
-Bill



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean: The Created
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Kindred Most Wanted (WW2230)
by Rodrigo C G R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 14:40:33

Classic product, with interesting characters, but also a poorly scanned file, and that's why I'll give it only two stars.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Kindred Most Wanted (WW2230)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Illara S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 17:10:54

The book is hardly a novel and more a novella, in part because it isn't meant to be read alone but as a whole in a series of thirteen. So you can get away with the shortness of it. Because of the nature of the series it focuses on the viewpoint (for the most part) of two of the Toreador clan and because of this there is a slight bogged down over indulgence in the appreciation of art and the symbolism around it, but what did you expect from a clan of vampires who pride themselves on appreciation of such things. Reading this book cannot be taken alone however and the larger events covered you only get a sliver of understanding, which hopefully is expanded in the other books but given you aren't as focused on order of events & more trying to be character driven, and it's not that strong as there isn't much time to know the characters. Hopefully as the other perspectives come into focus (by reading their books) it will make a larger sense of the machinations involved, and the characters involved get more fleshed out being seen by others. The compilation books I understand give more of a backstory and being more chronological you can see the characters as pieces from a grander perspective being moved around. But I worried I would be lost in trying to keep track of everyone involved so I felt this might be a better way to read the books. Later Ill do the compilations to focus more on order of events as opposed to characters.


Side Note: There is a constant reference to the events in the Trilogy of the Blood Curse but it is not really that important to this story beyond knowing it happened.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Finders (Hunter: The Vigil)
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 07:23:07

An excellent supplement, and within its limits, perhaps the most easily approachable of the Hunter supplements. It's problem is the lack of flexibility inherent in Witch design under the magic system portrayed. This is a trade-off for avoiding the complexity of MAGE.


Overall, it is well written, coherent, and has few head scratching or reread moments compared to say Spirit Slayers



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Finders (Hunter: The Vigil)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
by Anders L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2012 13:47:48

This is one of the best roleplaying game's I've ever played. It basically fixes everything that was wrong with the oWoD and updates the rules to fit into a much neater and standardized setting. Aside from some of the artwork not measuring up to the standard the rest of the book sets, the text is wonderful and easy to read. The rules are clear and it's not often you find yourself wondering what they mean.


I recommend this both for the grittyness of the rules and the realism of the rules.


The bookmarks however are... horrible. For a purchased PDF, there should be -far- more bookmarks than one can find in this book. One for each chapter is not by far enough. DriveThruRpg should really work on getting a few more bookmarks in there. As it stands right now, I'm going to have to add them myself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
by Matija P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2012 10:33:46

This is probably the best roleplaying system ever devised. We have been playing the 2ed and 3ed for 5 years now, playing d&d before that for at least 10.


Even though the book focuses on anime, the rules themselves can be applied to anything. We do not play anime themed campaigns, instead we at first used it to run a typical D&D 3.5ed campaign. Except the focus got removed from killing things and taking their stuff into actual heroics and character development. What it should have been about all along.


Only thing you should avoid in this system is the dynamic powers attribute, it has been planted there as a "catch all" exception handler, and it is seriously not necessary. Power flux does the job just as well.


My group became very evangelical about this rules system, and we converted quite a few other gaming groups to it, once they gotten over the "I am not being railroaded" shock.
Simply said, new players try to look at attributes, then make their character after them (as they used to do in D&D, by picking a class, then tailoring a personality to fit that class), while in BESM you first make a personality, and then it is a simple measure of picking attributes to go with it.


The game avoids numerous issues in other roleplaying systems, and doesn't introduce any issues of its own, except perhaps the need for someone to guide you through the book initially (depending on how quick you are to figure things out). The system looks very daunting at first glance, but once you get the basics down, it is the easiest system ever to work with.


I am almost always a DM, and no other system ever let me create opponents as unique and interesting as this. Players claim the same for their character concepts, you are absolutely not limited by anything but your imagination. Also, characters do not grow as "tall, thin pillars" as they do in systems like D&D, instead they become more and more versatile, which avoid the horror of having each character play its own small part, while others wait, that is so common in D&D and similar systems.


All in all, get this, and play any campaign of any style you can possibly imagine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1632 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates