DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Technocracy Assembled 2
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2013 04:09:34

It would worth a better appearance and bookmarking. Please rescan and update!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Technocracy Assembled 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Technocracy Assembled 1
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2013 04:07:21

The scan is beneath dignity of these books, not just the resolution, but there are many shifted and warped pages. They should worth better for such a prize. Please rescan and update!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Technocracy Assembled 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2013 13:27:50

I've run games of high fantasy and hard SF with dX with no problems at all. The rules are very well thought out, and I think the scaled-die system is a very smart idea. It's rules-light in a good way; pretty much everything that should be there is, and any action or item no matter how earthshaking or tiny can be accomodated -- you'd just need to have a colorful imagination (of course), good storytelling skills and a clear idea of how heroic or mundane your game should be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

San Francisco by Night
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2013 07:52:20

A very strong source book both on the actual city of San Francisco but also as a snap shot of the Kuei-jin vs Kindred cold war along the West Coast of North America. The book is well written and while it is trying to cram a lot of information into a single book it does a great job of giving story tellers and players enough information to explore and expand on the setting in their own games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
San Francisco by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: Demon Hunter X
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2013 10:43:28

This is one of the best stand alone books for Word of Darkness. Few WoD supplements can stand on their own but Demon Hunter X does an excellent job of telling you everything you need to start playing as Shih or Agent of Strike Force Zero in Japan, if you already know the story teller system really almost no other books needed (though Kindred of the East will probably be very helpful for Storytellers).

This books strikes an excellent balance between giving you RP flavor of Demon Hunter X, mechanical information like new powers and abilities and storyline ideas for the series. Further the book is extremely well written and with rules and concepts being clear and easy to understand even for those not familiar with the WoD:East material. Demon Hunter X certainly has a different flavor than most Word of Darkness lines being more anime influence, but it comes off as refreshing and still in line with the spirit of World of Darkness as whole. Finally Demon Hunter X does a good job establishing Japan, an area rarely explored in most other WoD material and bringing it to life in spite of a limited page count. DHX is one of my favorite World of Darkness supplements.

*Note: WoD: Tokyo does also explore Japan but is a Wraith Supplement so while it touched on all WoD lines it isn't tightly focused, not necessary but like Kindred of the East can be a good supplement to DHX to help round out the DHX setting and expand on some WoD:East concepts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Demon Hunter X
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hunters Hunted (WW2205)
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2013 09:37:00

A much less informative than other WoD books. It spends a lot of time telling you how to role play "you are angry at vampires so you kill them blarg!" and very little time giving you the history of the hunters, their place in the WoD and game rules. This was clearly an early book and not even close to the quality of Demon Hunter's X or Project Twilight and was very disappointing. Most later books go out of there way to point out some of the material here is out of date and provide much more clear rules for rules and concepts of this volume. There are some good ideas here, but they are not given enough detail in favor of hitting you over the head with "Why Hunter's Hunt" and those sections feels padded, repetitive and underwhelming. If you can get this one for $4.00 or less I'd say it would be worth picking up as it does have a few good moment but most material in this book is better covered in other books. Project Twilight and Ascension's Right Hand between them have most the material in this book and are both better written. Over all I'd say skip it unless you really want the handful of new perks and flaws for human hunters in this book which is the only material I haven't found updated elsewhere.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Hunters Hunted (WW2205)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ascension's Right Hand
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2013 09:31:35

I got this book strictly for the Numia material to expand on the poorly written rules in Hunter's Hunted. I'm not sure how this reads as a Mage Book but as a WoD supplement to the mortal material I liked it a lot. The Numia rules are much better explained here, more clearly written and in the case of the Hedge Magic, expanded on nicely. If you are looking for Numia rules for your mortal characters I recommend Ascension's Right Hand over Hunter's Hunted. Still, if you are not playing mage I'd wait for it to on sale the Numia rules only cover a single chapter and are not worth 9 dollars. If you are not looking to play mage you can get decent Numia powers out of Project Twilight and the material is more relevant to the World of Darkness as a whole instead of just mage so I'd pick that up first and wait for a sale.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Right Hand
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monte Cook's World of Darkness
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 11:12:59

I'll get right down to it, WoD is too much for one book. This book gives an alternate setting for WoD with new themes and feelings and it is simply way to much for the limited page count here. While Monte Cook does his best, and what you have in this book is good I don't think it is nearly enough. This product seems to me will really only will appeal to people who already know WoD given how obscure it is, but since this is the ONLY book on this setting I think most WoD will want more depth and rich RP material that Monte Cook was able to compress into this volume. This might be good as a stepping stone to try and introduce a D&D group to the WoD but otherwise I can't see playing D20 WoD over normal WoD.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monte Cook's World of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: Combat
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 11:02:51

If you think WoD needs to run a bit more like D&D this is your book. While the combat options are decent, they are a bit clunky so expect to spend a fair bit of time, characters points and effort in combat if you want to include this module. WoD:Combat is well written dropping the RP fluff and getting right down to combat details to give you most you can get out of an RPG book but it mostly feels unnecessary for WoD so I'm not sure you will get your money's worth out of it as I can't see using these combat rules with very many stories.

Exalted or D&D are much better suited to more battle heavy games with volumes of combat oriented material written for them. While WoD:Combat does add a bit of spice with new combat abilities and more detailed mechanics it still pales in comparison to games built around combat. I think for most people added extra combat rules to the World of Darkness will feel unnecessary as that isn't really what WoD is all about it. I'd wait for this one to go on sale if you really want the extra combat options with the exception if you are planning on playing Demon Hunter X which I feel will benefit most from WoD:Combat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Project Twilight
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 10:51:00

A solid book for people looking to run a character as part of the government in the World of Darkness. Usually the government is only brought up as being manipulated by the Kindred so these are a lot of good insight into human affairs in this book. The book focus on the USA and is sufficiently different Japan's from Strike Force Zero in Demon Hunter X that it stands on its own even if you already own that book. While most will prefer to play vampires, this book is a must for people looking to play a more average human fighting the good fight rather than a SFO cyber spy, Chi powered martial artist or a Supernatural style rogue hunter driving across the USA in an Impala with the Imbued power. The one downside to this book is it occasionally directs you to get more information from "Hunters Hunted" for a handful of paragraphs in that book which touched the FBI.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Project Twilight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orpheus: Haunting the Dead (Novel)
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/17/2013 10:25:01

Haunting the Dead features four novellas set in White Wolf’s World of Darkness featuring characters from the Orpheus game line. This is a break from the usual format that White Wolf uses when releasing a new game. Usually there is a fiction anthology featuring several short stories. The novellas in Haunting the Dead allow for more character development and (as with any good ghost story) more plot twists. This was a great idea and I hope White Wolf continues his trend.

The first story, The Grass is Always Greener, by Stefan Petrucha, is the best of the bunch. This story introduces the reader to the world of Orpheus without forcing pages of information down our throats. The author takes through the mind of the main character as she deals with her inner demons while hanging out with a band of misfits. The tension continues up to the very end of the tale, keeping the reader hooked and wanting more. A difficult tale to follow, The Grass is Always Greener, starts off Haunting the Dead with a bang.

The other three stories in Haunting the Dead follow the game material a little more closely than The Grass is Always Greener, featuring the adventures of Orpheus Agents (the type of characters you’d play in the RPG). Eurydice, by Seth Lindberg, is a good tale, but it probably would have made a better full-length novel. It does feature a creepy villain that fans are still discussing on the various Orpheus boards on the web. Dia de los Muertos, by Allen Rausch, and Corridors, by Rick Chillot, are good fiction, and fit the world of Orpheus well…they just are not on the same level as The Grass is Always Greener and to a lesser extent Eurydice.

My hat goes off to Becky Jollensten, who did the cover and book design for Haunting the Dead. Most readers don’t notice these little details, but she did a great job with this book. The design adds just a bit of extra style, complimenting the novellas inside.

This book ties in well with the Orpheus game supplements, but is enjoyable by those who have no knowledge of the game. A great collection of talented authors that should set the standard for new material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus: Haunting the Dead (Novel)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dust to Dust
by Andrés M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2013 15:51:36

Sometimes we storytellers get out of ideas or we just don't have the time to create a short story out of the blue. And this can be even more difficult if we didn't play Vampire in a while. Thankfully we have Dust to Dust. A short story with interesting characters, a good location and a couple of plot twists that will really get into the characters.

In Dust to Dust we have to visit the decaying city of Gary, Indiana. We will get into an ongoing vendetta between a forsaken Prince and a bored anarch. But things will get really messed up when not one but two tinkerers of the dead come to town. Oh, and a bad ass vampire hunter.

If you need a story to fill up or start your chronicle, or perhaps to play a one shot at a convention, Dust to Dust will be perfect for the job!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dust to Dust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2013 10:48:08

This is an amazing product. All the rules are in one place so that gameplay doesn't have to stop while someone digs out some obscure book, all the clans, sects, bloodlines, and powers are here so that frugal players can grab it and have whatever they need. The only downside is that some of the art leaves a little to be desired, but most of the art is phenomenal. If you like V:tM, cWoD, or just White Wolf, pick this up. If you like vampires in general, pick this up, find a group, and embark on the adventure of a lifetime. I got it to replace a revised Core Rulebook that was stolen from me years ago, and I'm almost glad it was stolen now. I got the B&W softcover from Drive Thru, and the quality is amazing. They say there's a thin white edge on all the pages, but it's not a big deal at all. You barely notice it, and the binding is pretty good too. Buy this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunter: The Reckoning
by John E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 16:50:25

We bought this as a supplement to our game as we only had 2 hard covers. This works great on computer but especially the ipad.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Reckoning
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghouls
by Jack E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 15:25:53

I was sucked in by the prologue: the story is simple, it's a day in the life of a ghoul named Ward, told through a series of time stamped entries.

I found the book describe ghouls in an unsettling human way, but the book also hammered home the point that ghouls are ghouls first, humans second. I found it oddly enlightening. I hope to capture the sort of feeling this book captured in its prologue in future games I run with ghouls. I think that's a good testament to this book's standard. I found the systems in the books interesting, especially in regards to ghoul families. It's very detailed and thought-provoking throughout.

Finally I like the overall quality and usefulness of the book. I like this book enough it's one of the few books I feel bothered to write a review about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghouls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1699 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates