DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BESM Space Fantasy
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:15:28

Great supplement. I love having no limit to the variety of races BESM allows. This is just one more easy access way to expand character creation choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Space Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Fantasy Bestiary
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:13:45

This is a great supplement! I love having the versatility of so many race choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Fantasy Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Character Diary
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:12:18

Haven't used this yet, but the set up is great. Plan to use it soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Character Diary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 22:10:43

The game is great. Too bad it's out of print as our local game shop would offer them for sale if they were available in paperback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Jorge C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2013 06:28:56

No podría estar más contento con el manual, es increíble, un regalo para la vista.

Por ello, es todavía más triste que el envío y el servicio de atención al cliente me hayan dado tantos problemas. Según se me informó, el libro salió de su destino (Reino Unido) el día 1 de abril, y me ha llegado hoy, 3 de mayo, un mes después. Dos veces contacté con DriveThruRPG, las dos veces me dijeron que había habido un problema con los datos que tenía la empresa de reparto, y las dos veces di mi dirección completa y mi número de teléfono personal, ta y como me solicitaban. Finalmente, hoy recibí una llamada de dicha empresa de reparto, y me dijeron que habían conseguido mi teléfono buscando mi nombre en internet y llamando a mi antiguo lugar de trabajo, y tuve que darles de palabra mi dirección completa, cuando yo contaba con que DriveThruRPG se hubiera encargado de esto.

Espero que haya sido un malententido aislado y que el servicio y de atención al cliente y/o el servico de envío no sea tan deficiente como a mí me ha parecido, porque, repito, la calidad del producto, de la impresión y del encuadernado, es increíble.

Muchas gracias.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Werewolf The Wild West
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 22:30:27

This is a great book. All the information you need for setting your Werewolf campaign during the 19th century. The book has many built-in rivalries, giving the impression of the tribes killing each other much more often than working together.

New Gifts, and Rites. And the mechanics of this match up with Werewolf 3rd edition. Starting with no character concept, I found the description of the tribes, and examples of common members, to be very inspiring with character concept and generation coming together very fast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf The Wild West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Three Shades of Night
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/15/2013 11:02:25

Three Shades of Night offers a look into each of the “big three” supernatural races of the World of Darkness; all three novellas in this book take place in Chicago, and all of them also involve a supernatural virus that is killing innocents throughout the city.

The first tale, by Janet Trautvetter, is called “The Murder of Crows” and follows the Mekhet vampire, Loki, on his quest to discover the person(s) responsible for the virus that is currently killing mortals throughout the city. Elders within the Kindred population believe that there may be a vampire “carrier” of the virus because some of the victims are among the regular herd of mortals the Kindred feed upon. Loki gets involved with a variety of characters throughout his hunt, including Kindred mentioned in other Requiem books (fiction and RPG alike). The Unholy makes an appearance or two, keeping Loki guessing as to her true motives and powers. The characters from the next two stories in Three Shades of Night also make short appearances in this story, hinting at what is yet to come later in the book. All-in-all, “The Murder of Crows” is the strongest of the three stories in the book.

“Birds of Ill Omen” by Sarah Roark is the Werewolf: the Forsaken tale of the book. The main character, Heartsblood, is not a Chicago native; he comes to Chicago by way of a vision about the city, hoping to stop the plague from spreading. Along the way he temporarily joins a local Pack of werewolves (eventually becoming the Pack Alpha for a time) and seeks clues to help him unravel the mystery. He learns a lot about the corruption that has built up in the city, talks to a few Spirits and even helps heal some of the Pack’s emotional wounds before moving on. “Birds of Ill Omen” is a bit of a difficult read at times; it seems that the reader needs to be familiar with Werewolf: the Forsaken in order to understand some of the terminology that Heartsblood is using. Even though at times it seemed a bit confusing, there was more than enough action to keep things interesting.

Myranda Sarro is the author of “Shadows and Mirrors” and wraps us the conspiracy with the Mage characters that made brief appearances in the first two stories. This story is hurt by the fact that “The Murder of Crows” and “Birds of Ill Omen” have already set-up much of the mystery and clued the reader in on some of the secrets. While the other two tales were complete stories of their own (and complimented each others’ events), “Shadows and Mirrors” relied on the assumption the reader was familiar with not only the Mage: the Awakening setting, but also with the first two stories of this collection.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Three Shades of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marriage of Virtue & Viciousness (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #3)
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/15/2013 10:57:12

A great follow-up tale to Stolze’s earlier Requiem novel A Hunger like Fire, this time we learn about some new members of Chicago’s undead society. Most of the characters in this book, with two notable exceptions, are members of the Lancea Sanctum Covenant. The two exceptions are “Earth” Baines and Aurora…but I’ll get to them a little later.

Events in A Hunger like Fire have put Solomon Birch, the ranking member of the Lancea Sanctum, in a dangerous position. A few members of the Covenant feel he is no longer fit to lead them and begin planning his removal as Bishop. Deals are made, gossip is whispered, and pawns are set into motion. While no one in the city questions the faith of Solomon Birch, there are those who think his ties to the Prince (an Invictus) have made him unfit to lead the Covenant. In addition to the internal politics of the Lancea Sanctum, there are rumors of a night on Indulgence. An Indulgence is a single night where vampires are free to kill others and to Embrace new vampires without fear of punishment from the Prince. This could lead to old grudges settled with violence and new young vampires throughout the city. This is dangerous for those wishing to uphold the Masquerade and keep mortal hunters from finding the undead.

Throughout the book there are several conversations between vampires of different factions that really demonstrate just how devious and deadly the undead really are. The Invictus lounging in an exclusive health club while discussing the potential outcomes of the current situation, for example is quite different from the members of the Ordo Dracul whispering in the library.

Velvet, a younger member of the Lancea Sanctum, gets herself mixed up with two mortals and the ongoing political drama…keeping her quite busy throughout the book. She is an interesting character, having next-to-nothing in the way of favors, powers or position when compared to Solomon Birch or his rivals. She makes her way through the night just as well as they, even if her problems are much less grand.

“Earth” Baines is a member of the Invictus Covenant and a sometime “Hound” for the Prince’s enforcer Norris. This position, and his desire for more, gets him dragged into the internal strife of the Lancea Sanctum. Certain members of the Covenant make use of his blatant greed, lack of subtlety and joy of violence. He is never quite bright enough to realize when he is being used, much to the delight of those manipulating him.

Aurora, a mortal out for revenge against the vampires, gets in over her head rather quickly. She fails in an attack on Velvet early in the story, which sets her up to be manipulated by monsters much more powerful than she ever imagined. She is probably my favorite character in the story. She is determined, resourceful and angry. She even manages to humiliate and frustrate Baines at least once, which was an entertaining read.

There are several other members of the Lancea Sanctum that make appearances throughout the story. Some of them are even written up in World of Darkness: Chicago for those that play the Vampire: the Requiem role-playing game. Sylvia Raines, for example, stirs up some trouble and sets a few plots in motion that would make for some very interesting character motivations in an ongoing game.

The writing in The Marriage of Virtue & Viciousness is top-notch, among the author’s best work to date. Each of the characters shows a range of motivations and their emotional states never feel flat.

While I would have liked to have read a bit more of Solomon Birch (especially considering the back cover text reads as if the entire book is about him and him alone), the other characters certainly keep things interesting. If you enjoyed A Hunger like Fire this book is as good, if not better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marriage of Virtue & Viciousness (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #3)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/15/2013 10:53:09

Blood In, Blood Out is the second part in the trilogy for Vampire the Requiem. It takes you out of Elysium and into the streets of Chicago, where it is even colder. A different type of law exists out there, one where civility isn’t found.

It still incorporates the same characters, but the main focus of the story is on a new character, Duce, and his struggle against the status quo of Chicago. Lucian Soulban is the writer for this book, and brings some interesting elements into the story. While his style differs slightly from Greg Stolz, it is easy to continue with the story where it stopped in the first book.

The book broke off slightly from the first book to focus on the new characters and problems that developed. Again, this book gives a great view of the ‘other side’ of the tracks in the World of Darkness. Not every coven is recognized by the Camarilla, and Chicago is a prime example of that. It tails the leader of the Carthians in the city, Duce, and how he is connected to Persephone, childe of Prince Maxwell. It also has a wonderful view on betrayal of covens, and how it comes about.

Some immediate problems I had with the book was I found myself not getting into the characters as much as the first book. The character that was supposed to have the reader relate too seemed a bit too distant for me. Even with the continuation of Persephone, the first books main character, it was hard for me to get into the story. I think the biggest problem was the first book left you with a cliffhanger that wasn’t even continued with the second book. The pacing of the book was another thing. It didn’t flow as well as the first book.

The language and alliterations in the book was also something to be desired. It makes many references to the Black Panthers and other organizations. This is not the problem, it’s the fact that it was littered throughout the book, and almost becoming preachy. While it is a great element to introduce this in a story, it almost seems like Lucian is putting the reader down for everything that has happened in the past. It made me feel like something you accidentally step in on the sidewalk, not a good feeling to take away from a book.

As a stand alone book, Lucian did a wonderful job keeping the life that was breathed into the existing characters when they were first introduced. The new characters in this book, Duce and his friend, took on a life of their own. They offer an outsiders view on Elysium politics and social order. The Carthians definitely have an outside view of the Invictus and Sanctified, and that comes out wonderfully in the novel. This is a great book, especially if you have read the first of the series (which I hope you have). This book is again, a great resource for anybody who is a storyteller. Take the time to appreciate the book as it is. Read it as a stand alone book, not as part of the series. Not only will you enjoy it more, you can take away more from the story as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clanbook: Salubri
by clay c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2013 13:20:29

the book was pretty good gave me insight into how to play a Salubri though it added questions like who Salout really was the demon that the other clans labeled him or was the kind leader the Salubri looked up too. The book leaves that one mystery anyone it had some nice story in it and so i deas how to run character.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Salubri
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clanbook: Assamite - Revised Edition
by Brian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2013 12:53:53

An exceptionally well written look at the Assamite Clan. Fantastic information throughout. The PDF has exceptional clarity and I was very pleased with the scan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Assamite - Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Proverbial Monsters
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2013 12:05:48

Not a bad piece of work, the monsters are quite 1-Dimensional though and they are essentially focused on an old proverb, e.g. one which only attacks through broken mirrors. Some useful ideas however.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Proverbial Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fallen is Babylon
by Michael A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2013 08:54:01

Fallen is Babylon is the first Storyteller Adventure System (SAS) module I've ever run and I'm extremely impressed by it.

The SAS contains eight tightly designed scenes based around the infernal pacts of Dr. Rasoletti and others. As with other SAS products, Fallen is Babylon includes extensive background material, NPC character sheets, discussion of the scenes, and scene summaries and player handouts at the end.

What makes Fallen is Babylon such an impressive adventure is the efficient design - author Matt McFarland was able to create a complex and evocative plot with only two mortal and two infernal characters. The first half of the adventure requires almost no work for the storyteller - in my experience the SAS gave me every recommendation and description I needed. Towards the end, as the players come up with their own ideas and schemes, the SAS becomes a bit more open ended. Don't expect prewritten plot points to get in the way of your players.

Overall, Fallen is Babylon is great and worked perfectly as a four hour one-shot story.

If you'd like more World of Darkness discussion, check out our website at http://darker-days.org

If you'd like to see an actual play of Fallen is Babylon, check it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4aX5PbZ1F0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallen is Babylon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (2nd Edition)
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 19:13:21

The book is fantastic. It's the only core cWoD game I never bought as I could never find a physical copy back in the day! However, the quality of the scan is poor. The pages are crooked and blurry. Quite disappointing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem Demo Full
by Paul H. D. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 14:24:14

A well printed, clear and informative introduction to the Vampire. It presents the most important facts, the background and organization of the Vampire clans most effectively. If you are serious about writing in this genre and need to save, read the introductory guide to prepare you for what lies ahead.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem Demo Full
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1684 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates