DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mirrors: Bleeding Edge
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 14:21:42

Overall this is a good supplement. The art is evocative, and the layout is easy to read. I really would have like to have a lot more lists of cyberware (cyberpunk is all about the tech!) but it would not be that hard to "roll your own". That's not a big deal for a GM who is used to adapting material from other games, but it does mean that almost nobody will be able to use this material "out of the box".


Buy this if you want some ideas of how to integrate cyberpunk elements in to your games, and how to adapt those themes to the World of Darkness. But be prepared to do a bit more work to really use it in play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirrors: Bleeding Edge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Werewolf The Dark Ages
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 16:33:05

I love it. Great addition to my library of PDF. Would love to see it as a PoD option as well as I love having my books as well as my PDFs :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scroll of Fallen Races
by Brian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 15:46:36

I remember the original teases for this book, back when it was originally going to be called "Scroll of the Lesser Races." Wow, am I glad they didn't go with that title. Beyond the obvious implications, Exalted 2e has enough problems with overtones that only a few hundred people are important to the setting and how important they are can be determined by what color they glow if someone jumps them in an alley.


Scroll of the Fallen Races is divided into two parts, one for the Mountain Folk and one for the Dragon Kings. Both of these sections pretty much just recapitulate the information in first edition products--Exalted: The Fair Folk and The Exalted Players Guide, respectively--but update the mechanics for second edition and expand a bit on the things we already knew in the way that most of the second edition books do. For the Mountain Folk, this mostly involves making their society even more cutthroat and backstabbing and giving even more of the credit to Autochthon for inventing everything everywhere ever. Life for the Artisans is a seething pit of vipers with constantly shifting alliances and power plays and life for the Workers and Warriors is a nightmare dystopia, but it's "okay" because they're nearly living machines anyway, so who cares what happens to them? The Artisans certainly don't.


The rule of stupid distances is still is effect--Lutar, a Mountain Folk city-state between Mount Metagalpa and Great Forks, is described as conducting trade with and sending troops to help the Haltans, thousands of miles away--but for intra-Mountain Folk relations it actually makes sense because they have functional long-distance communications and travel technologies. The Mountain Folk are probably the only civilization in Creation where this kind of scale makes sense, and I wish that I could think it was planned instead of just being a consequence of not wanting to fill in the empty places in the map.


Most of the section is devoted to artifacts, character creation, and Charms after the first twenty pages, and while the artifacts include plenty of obvious modern technology with the serial numbers filed off like magical grenades, that doesn't bother me here. The Mountain Folk were put in as Exalted's version of dwarves--explicitly, see The Making of Exalted--so having them be superlative-but-mechanistic crafters fits in just fine. My problem with Wonders of the Lost Age is that it tried to make this everyone's paradigm, to the overall detriment of the setting, not with anyone at all using magitech. And if anyone's going to use it, dwarves are a good candidate.


The Charms are mostly utilitarian, as befits the somewhat focused nature of the Mountain Folk, though the Charms that replicate some aspects of sorcery (summoning elementals and countermagic) are conceptually the most interesting. Otherwise Worker Charms are boring, Warrior Charms are great for killing people but literally nothing else, and Artisan Charms are mostly manipulating Essence with a side order of crafting. Only the Enlightened Charms really have anything beyond a somewhat narrow focus, because that's where all the social and interaction stuff goes. Fortunately, these are accessible to everyone, since in a Mountain Folk game the PCs are all likely to be Enlightened. I doubt many people want to play "Boring 9-5 manual labor: the RPG."


There is one huge oversight I have to mention. For all the talk about the Endless War and how the struggle against hostile underground monsters and civilizations defines Mountain Folk civilization, the book doesn't give you any stats for anything to fight. That's a pretty big oversight and one that makes it hard to run any kind of Mountain Folk game involving their greatest threat without a lot of work on the storyteller's part.


While I'm a fan of the first edition corebook's explanation that the Mountain Folk are just Fair Folk who entered Creation at the Elemental Pole of Earth and took on some of its stability thereby, that ship has long since sailed. What's here is a serviceable if boring portrayal, but there's not much that actually makes me want to play a Mountain Folk or run a Mountain Folk game.


The Dragon King section is better, and is helped by spending slightly more time on Dragon King culture and psychology and by greatly expanding the scope of Dragon King locations. Originally they were all in Rathess until the Exalted Players Guide added the Pterok, Mosok, and Anklok breeds, but even there it was implied that Rathess had almost all the surviving Dragon Kings and the other three breeds were mostly afterthoughts. Scroll of the Fallen Races expands on these locations, like Mouth Eledath in the southwest, where the Dragon Kings have advanced far enough to begin trade with the Mountain Folk (in 1e they had just attained sapience within the last decade), or Scale Crest Island, where intelligent Mosok rule over human barbarian tribes on the coast and intelligent Anklok do the same from the island's interior. This is great and it's an important addition to the game, since it provides plenty of possibility to interact with Dragon Kings as more than monstrous manual entries.


As with the Mountain Folk section, most of the chapter is taken up with superpowers, but unlike the Mountain Folk the Dragon Kings don't derive their powers from Charms. They get them from stratified progressions of techniques called the Ten Paths of Prehuman Mastery. Each Path is themed to an element and has some particular focus; for example, the Clear Air Path is about perception and the Flickering Fire Path is about speed and motion. Unique to the 2e presentation of the Dragon Kings, there are also five Dark Paths themed around the five elements of the Underworld.


This is also a holdover from first edition, but I like it because it reveals that Charms are not the universal way to organize supernatural powers. It makes me wonder if the other Primordial-created races like the alaun or the scathach had their own non-Charm-based powersets and how they were organized. This is somewhat tarnished by the Fair Folk using Charms even through they come from the madness outside Creation, but it still makes me curious.


The storyteller advice correctly points out that the Dragon Kings have very similar themes to Solars--devotees of the Unconquered Sun who have been gone from the world for ages and who most of Creation thinks are monsters, who are driven by ancient memories--but points out that Dragon Kings have a much harder time proving their good intentions than Solars because they do look like monsters and there's no way around that other than disguising themselves. Dragon Kings have to contend with a world that they once ruled that has now grown strange and nearly forgotten them, when it doesn't remember them as horrible monsters. Okay, maybe it's closer than "very similar." But the Dragon Kings have no chance of ever regaining their power due to diminished numbers, so games about them are focused more on what they can do with their diminished capabilities in the Age of Sorrows.


Overall, the second section is much more interesting than the first, because even though the Dragon Kings are thematically similar to the Solars, they have enough breadth of concept and location that there are many more stories to tell about them than about the Mountain Folk. Plus, dwarves are cool, but they're just not as cool as magic dinosaur people. The prize goes to the second half of the book, but I still like the whole thing for showing two of Creation's nonhuman cultures in (some) depth. I only wish there were more interesting nonhuman races to show.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scroll of Fallen Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
by ROBERT H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2016 21:50:55

Nice game, simple rules. just wish it was in print and I wish more of the books for it were in print.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storytellers Handbook to the Sabbat (WW2225)
by Dominic W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 20:31:14

good supplement. A lot of stories to add examples.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storytellers Handbook to the Sabbat (WW2225)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player's Guide to the Sabbat
by Dominic W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 20:29:10

good supplement. A lot of stories to add examples.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 11:40:22

I found it really fun to make characters. Bit of a challenge balancing all the factors. But then actually running it got rather involved and tedious.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tri-Stat dX: Core System Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Collection of Horrors: Mr. Thélème
by Samuel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 12:22:31

This is a great look at Mr. Theleme, and I personally find the new castigation very cool. The stats for Franz are very interesting, though I had hoped it would be able to change size as occasionally Franz' silhouette has been mistaken for a human. However, that minor complaint aside, from the audio file to the small amount of new detail on Maman, this is an excellent little scene that works well to introduce Mr. Theleme and Franz to a Chronicle, or to escalate and continue his involvement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Collection of Horrors: Mr. Thélème
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gilded Cage
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2016 20:03:24

Gilded Cage, a sourcebook for Vampire: The Masquerade, takes a look at the opportunity for players to control their ability to use politics and influence. The book is a fairly easy read at 111 pages and its layout is pretty easy to follow. Focusing on one’s personal influence, Gilded Cage exhibits how anyone can become influential, whether you are in janitorial services or the leader of a multibillion-dollar corporation. Not only can you learn to become more influential, but the book also covers some strategy behind climbing the social ladder. What player doesn’t want to become the highest on the social food chain in their local game? Learn how to pull all the strings needed to rules the streets or the business world; it’s your choice.


The key to using Gilded Cage isn’t the exact words on the pages, but instead how one uses the information given to enhance the story they have created. My favorite aspect of role-playing is the opportunity to take any story or concept and make it your own. The ability to make a character a “social butterfly” in the World of Darkness is just as important as how many enemies he/she can take down with a punch or a gunshot.


I like to keep myself aware that Gilded Cage is a sourcebook. Personally, I found it a bit difficult to finish in one sitting. Nonetheless, I also look at that as a good thing, for taking in all that information at once may have been a bit overwhelming. I suggest if you have a tendency of browsing through books for details, that you take a few days to look over the information in detail and then go back and try to read it in a shorter span of time. I found that the second time around, I gathered more from the source than I would reading it only once.


You don’t have to be into Vampire: The Masquerade to understand the information Gilded Cage displays. The book brings up the various social issues that we see in every day life, yet incorporates them nicely in the World of Darkness. All gamers should at least keep in mind that there are many ways to play a character. So if you think you have what it takes to be your clan’s leader or you just want to swindle your way to the top, Gilded Cage could be your guide to being the leader of your Vampire community.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gilded Cage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 16:18:45

The game is a good game. I wanted a back up copy of the game, so I checked out the preview pages of the pdf and all looked good. Too bad the file that I downloaded didn't match the quality of the preview AT ALL. Scan lines and worse on my copy ( I tried to download more than once), but not on the preview. Questionable...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 13:48:22

Sometimes authors give writing a great story everything they got. Sometimes that takes a backseat to an agenda. I think the writer is talented and I think the story had potential but I can’t get through it. I’m just not interested in the characters. I think the author was probably guided to force diversity into the story and it just did not work. I don’t mean racial diversity BTW, I mean cultural diversity. We’re talking ghettos, gangsters, and Carthians here. The characters don’t hold my interest and half way through the book, I just give up. I make no apologies for not being genuinely interested in the story. That’s not a choice, it’s a reality. The first book in the series was great. Rather than take the first book further, this story tries to take the setting in a new direction … without me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood In, Blood Out (Vampire: The Requiem Novel #2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 12:40:19

This is the table top Vampire game to play, hands down. This version of Vampire the Masquerade beats Vampire the Requiem 2nd Edition! Here is why.


I have played Vampire the Requiem extensively. The new second edition of Vampire the Requiem has alienated me. The art was trashy and cheap, the rules for experience and progression are stupid, rebalancing of disciplines resulted in more confusion and unbalance, and the game feels goofier and more unpolished than ever. Even though there are some positive changes to the new VtR2e, the game plays more awkward than ever. So I thought to myself, it’s time to learn about my options. And that is why VtM20th got my consideration.


My reservations have always been that the system is too old with too much baggage and outdated mechanics that won’t play as clean and smooth as first edition nWoD games did. My reservations were justified to some degree. The game still feels a little dusty. Some of the mechanics are a bit clunky feeling and could diffidently be cleaner. But the book is beautiful, the setting is ruthlessly wonderful, and the game is even better than I remember it being. I have been running a game for about 8 full nights now and I am really enjoying it. The community that supports this game is still very alive. The setting has been very well cleaned up. The rules make more sense than ever. Some of the things that initially bothered me either didnt bother me as much as I thought they would when we played or I have found a solution in the rules that I did not notice at first. The disciplines seem more balanced than I remember. Combat is a bit too cumbersome but the more I get used to it the more this is not an issue for me.


It’s not perfect and I do miss some of my favorite aspects of VtR (first edition.) But this game has not faded away at all. Its community is thriving and the game has been refined yet preserved.


In the end, games like this are about role play. This game’s role play experience is great. This feels like the quintessential vampire game that has colored our culture for the last 20+ years. That’s what VtR2e is missing. While playing this game, I keep getting this feeling that, this is it; this is what our generation's Vampire mythology is. It’s been thought out and vetted for eternity.


I think VtR has some issues it will need to work through for the next ten year cycle. While it works that out, I’ll be happily playing VtM.


As for the book, it’s big. I mean, in real life, this damn thing is HUGE. My first “premium” book had binding problems. DTRPG sent me out a new one right away. They are great to work with and I’m pleased that they handle problems quickly and kindly. But I don’t think the quality of the binding is very good for a $100 book. Other than the binding being stressed by the page count, the book is absolutely beautiful. I’m not sure that the premium version is worth the extra money though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2016 19:35:50

I was a little concerned about the binding on such a large book, but it is high quality and stands up to regular use.


I love having all of the pertinent information in one volume now, as opposed to having to search through dozens of supplements to find that one path I saw like 4 years ago.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel Saga, Volume 2: The Eye of Gehenna (Novel)
by Jamie F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 14:32:18

This PDF book is in an Image format and thus impossible to get on to Kindle as it can't be sent by email as the file is so massive.
Instead of being about 3MB its 100MB in size.
Please resize it to something sensible. It can't be that hard for who ever has the original?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel Saga, Volume 2: The Eye of Gehenna (Novel)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Laws of the East
by Jacob V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 23:56:08

I am very pleased that I made this purchase. I am currently running a Kindred of the East Chronicle, and found that the MET sourcebook had additional information that does not show up in tabletop-only sourcebooks. As well, the pdf is crisp and clear, a very high quality and easy to navigate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of the East
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1626 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates