DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Free Stuff











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/12/2019 13:14:25

The physical book is 60 pages worth of material and deals with running a Lovecraftian-inspired game of horror fantasy. The PDF is 66 with covers and an ad for Mutant Future.

A few new races are introduced for a Race-as-Class style game with notes on other classes to use in an advanced game; Sea-Blooded, Subhuman, White Ape and White Ape Hybrid.

Next, are some new magical formulae and some new spells all based on various Lovecraft sources. Enough to sprinkle into various dammable texts for the players to find AND then really get into trouble with.

We come to the monsters and all the old favorites are here. Comparing them to other sources of similar monster will give you plenty of differences in stats, which is a good thing really. Players who are familiar with other books should not have knowledge their characters do not.

A small section on Eldritch Artifacts, a staple of many of Lovecraft's mythos stories.

And finally a section on Psionics which differs from other books/games.

We get some appendices on Eldritch tomes and an artifact generator. Appendix 3 covers the use of these psionic rules in Mutant Future. And Appendix 4 covers the stories and books used.

We end with the OGL section.

The book is awfully fun and is full of great ideas. If you are a fan of Labyrinth Lord and Lovecraftian tales then I would most certainly grab this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The UFO Investigator's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/16/2019 20:41:12

This book is the latest (for now) book in the Survive This! Dark Places & Demogorgons line. A couple of things jump right out at me.

First, the cover has dropped the "Survive This!" label. It is still mentioned on the cover page, but I am thinking that the Dark Places & Demogorgons name has more visual recognition.

Second, that cover is fantastic. It's a step up from the covers of past books (which are still great, this one is just better) and it invokes EXACTLY the feelings they wanted. Is that a Whitley Strieber inspired cover? Fire in the Sky? X-Files? Yes. To all the above.

Ok, let's jump right in.

I am reviewing both the book and the PDF. These were not sent to me, I bought them on my own dime. Noticeable differences: The PDF cover is blueish on my screen (nod to Blue Book?) but the physical copy is more green (Little Green Books?) anyway. Not important...moving on.

The book is 48 pages with an interior cover page and two pages of OGL. The font is larger than say your average Swords & Wizardry book at the same digest size. Color covers, black and white interior art.

The first section covers new classes. We get a good selection of the usual suspects; UFO Investigator (a class I resemble a little too closely at that age), Conspiracy Theorist, Alien Hunter, and Alien in Disguise (for your Starman types). The UFO Investigator covers your basic Fox Mulder, Carl Kolchak, Scooby Gang, and others. The Alien in Disguise is the most detailed with various forms and powers.

Up next are a couple pages of new equipment including the UFO Investigator's kits. Some adventure hooks, UFO terms, and some misrepresented UFOs. Enough in a couple of pages to get you going really.

The really fun stuff is next Alien Encounters/Seeds. Included are the Hexpost Monster, Alien Probers (we know what these guys are all about), K.U.F.O.O. (an organization), Green Men Attack Gaslight, and the G-Men Come to Town (basically the Project Blue Book). So if the hooks couldn't get you going these will.

We end with what is one of my favorite parts of all the DP&D books, the Recommended Reading and Viewing lists. Interestingly enough "Project U.F.O." is not on this list. Ok, Josh Palmer, this needs to be added to your watch list.

The book is excellent really. Great addition to the Dark Places & Demogorgons game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The UFO Investigator's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kobayashi Maroon
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/25/2018 16:52:31

How am I supposed to say no to an Alpha Blue product that invokes the memory of one of my favorite things in one of my favorite movies ever?

That answer is "No. I am not going to ignore it."

Now sometimes I like to read books to review on my lunch break at work. Yeah. That wasn't going to happen with this one. Look, there is nothing X-Rated in this book. Maybe R, maybe a racy PG-13. Nothing more. But it is certainly Not Safe For Work, so keep that in mind.

This is a collection of three short adventures.

Episode one is a riff on the Kobayashi Maru, you need to rescue The Vanessa before Yog-Soggoth comes..er, wait that sounds bad. Before Yog-Soggoth arrives. I dig this one since I have been all about mixing Trek and Cthulhu. I am not sure I can play this one straight though. Still, I love the idea and it really made me laugh.

Episode two is an Amok Time riff and I must say kudos to author Zoltar Khan Delgado (no shit, that's his name. I really, really want it to be his real name too.) for coming up with Pr0n Fa'ar. I am disapointed in myself for not coming up with it myself. But then again I was not blessed with a name like Zoltar. With a name like that there are certain expectations.

The third and last epsiode features a wine mixing event in which the PCs are security. It's a pretty clever set up and could be run complete straight to be honest. The NPCs are all rich, powerful, extremely good looking or all the above. This where the power of the three galaxies come to play. Of course there is going to be trouble!

We end with an Appendix of random tables that will only ever find use in an Alpha Blue game. My only gripe about this book is where was it when I REALLY needed it? You know back in 1985.

But in all seriousness, this is just good old pervy fun. I won't run it for my kids, but I will mine it for ideas. Plus my kids are old enough now that if they find it and want to run it for their groups that is fine. Serious. Why is being a "murder hobo" ok but a pervert is not? Give me a pervert any day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kobayashi Maroon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/02/2018 06:19:27

Nothing beats a good ghost story and the early 80s was full of them. From the old school hauntings of 1981's Ghost Story to 1982's Poltergeist to the old guard in House of the Long Shadows (1983) and even to 1984's Ghostbusters. And this is now where near all. If you loved ghost stories it was a great time.

Thankfully Bloat Games hears you and has what you need.

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook is 60 pages (digest sized) with color covers and black and white interior. It has the same feel as the other books in this series. The art is good and I recognize a lot of the names inside.

With this book, like the others, we start out with new classes. The Clairvoyant can see things the others can't (we have a couple "I see dead people" classes already, but this is a good one). The Parapsychologist is great, but I think it is stretching what it means for a "Kid" class like the core book is filled with. Though, I guess reading the starting equipment this is also the class that best fit me in High School! Yes, I did write a program to emulate a PKE meter on my TRS-80 Color Computer. The Mystical Ghost Hunter covers your basic exorcists/cleanser type. But the class I was happiest to see was the Nullifier! This is the guy who walks in the room and all paranormal activity stops. The class might have limited growth, save that they are the ones that will survive any magical attack, but I like them all the same. In college one of my "hippie" friends claimed I was a "Null" because his Ouija board never worked when I was around!

Pages 14-24 cover different kinds of ghosts, spectres, and haunts and their reasons for haunting. This is one of the parts that make this book "and use w/other OSR games". You can drop these spookies into any OSR game (some will require tweaks) and you are good to go. They can all be run as-is really; especially if you are playing Swords & Wizardry. In fact, there is a lot here in the DP&D that the S&W game master can use.

A few pages on what you can find on The Other Side! (uh...Thanks! but I didn't get you anything. OH! THAT Other Side.)

There are a couple pages on equipment including Ghost Hunter kits to fit your price range. Next, we have some new ghost-related magic items. A couple pages of minor and major spells.

And what book on ghosts would be complete without a haunted house? Well, this one taped into that 80s feeling well and gives us a haunted asylum! It's like you guys read my Christmas lists or something!

Information of the J'town Paranormal Society (which feels like it is somewhere between Supernatural's "Ghost Chasers" and Doctor Who's LINDA).

We end with a great, but incomplete, list books, movies, and television shows.

Author Josh Palmer did a hell of a job here and this is a worthy addition to the DP&D line. The book is worth every penny. In truth at just $5 and 60 pages you are getting a hell of a deal.

Print on demand is coming soon.

It's Halloween. Get out there and bust some ghosts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blue Razor 5 Page Background
Publisher: The Knotty-Works
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/07/2018 15:27:43

Needed a cool background for a project and this one is just perfect. Can't argue with the price either!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Razor 5 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Going Through Forbidden Otherworlds
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2018 11:55:36

Going Through Forbidden Otherworlds, or GTFO (cute huh) is again a case of me getting something that is exactly what I need. While I am not going to play it as-is, there is a tweak mentioned in the book itself that works perfectly for me. In fact, a lot of this book works perfectly for me and my next set of adventures. I can't believe I am saying this, but I will turn up the gore factor in this Lamentations product for my needs.

Not a real fan of the art inside but I see why it works for this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Going Through Forbidden Otherworlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Premium Edition)
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:31:49

Fun while it lasted. This could have been a GREAT book for the MHR line. To bad it seemed to have died before it really got going.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Premium Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Premium Edition)
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:29:51

Fun while it lasted. This could have been a GREAT book for the MHR line. To bad it seemed to have died before it really got going.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Premium Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Essentials Edition)
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:29:36

Fun while it lasted. This could have been a GREAT book for the MHR line. To bad it seemed to have died before it really got going.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Event Book (Essentials Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stock Art: Female Witch with Serpent
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:13:19

Very interesting little witch with snake. Can't wait to find a good home for it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Female Witch with Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PFV: Fire Witch (Poster Sized Jpeg)
Publisher: Stainless Steel Dragon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 09:01:23

Well there is a woman here and there is some fire. But nothing really "witchy" about it.

Still I downloaded it and used it as my phone background for a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PFV: Fire Witch (Poster Sized Jpeg)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RIO DRACO: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 08:45:44

I don't play a lot of Wild West games (ok almost never) but I own a lof of Fat Dragon products and this one does not disapoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RIO DRACO: Base Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Companion Expansion
Publisher: Barrataria Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 08:43:07

The Companion Expansion by Barrataria Games didn't get the same level of hype as the B/X Companion, but it covers much of the same ground. I have not looked at them together to see how they cover similar topics, but they seem very compatible.

For new races there are gnomes and wild-wood (sylvan) elves, half-orcs, half-ogres and half-elves as race-classes. Wood elves share the same spell lists as do druids and gnomes share a list with Illusionists and bards. All for the B/X system

It also has a Bard, Druid, and Illusionist Classes that are roughly equal with the AD&D versions. But the real feature of this book is the expanded spell list. If you are looking to extend your illusionist, druid or bards a bit more with more spells then this is a good way to do it.

While this book does not have the feel of the first Basic and Expert books, it does have a ton of useful information and all of it (well all but about 0.5%) is 100% OGL.

I consider this book a forgotten treasure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companion Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts
Publisher: Buried Without Ceremony
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:13:30

Avery Alder's Monsterhearts has been one of those games I that I have wanted to review and play some more ever since I first encountered the First Edition all the way back when I was introduced to it at Gen Con.

Monsterhearts is a game on what it like to play teenage monsters. Monsters as metaphors for teenage life and feeling a little outside the norm. I think it is something everyone can relate too I think. The system is an easy one, based on the Apocalypse World Engine, something else I have wanted to delve into further. The base mechanic is simple; 2d6 + whatever mods (depending on the game), get higher than 10 for a success, or a 7-9 for something weird.

Characters have playbooks (much like many PBA games) but they also have a "Sex Move" they can use on other characters. They are teens afterall.

Don't expect a lot of combat here or a detailed combat system, this is not "Supernatural", this is Buffy in the early seasons, Twilight, or Carmillia the Web Series.

I am giving 1st Edition a nudge up in the ratings because that is the edition I played at Gen Con and the woman running it did a hell of job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
Publisher: Buried Without Ceremony
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:12:21

Avery Alder's Monsterhearts has been one of those games I that I have wanted to review and play some more ever since I first encountered the First Edition all the way back when I was introduced to it at Gen Con.

Monsterhearts is a game on what it like to play teenage monsters. Monsters as metaphors for teenage life and feeling a little outside the norm. I think it is something everyone can relate too I think. The system is an easy one, based on the Apocalypse World Engine, something else I have wanted to delve into further. The base mechanic is simple; 2d6 + whatever mods (depending on the game), get higher than 10 for a success, or a 7-9 for something weird.

Characters have playbooks (much like many PBA games) but they also have a "Sex Move" they can use on other characters. They are teens afterall.

Don't expect a lot of combat here or a detailed combat system, this is not "Supernatural", this is Buffy in the early seasons, Twilight, or Carmillia the Web Series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 913 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates