Advanced Search >

Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook

Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook

ADD TO WISHLIST >
Selected Option:
Watermarked PDF
$19.99
Hardcover Color Book (Standard Heavyweight)
$61.87
Watermarked PDF + Hardcover Color Book (Standard Heavyweight)
$81.86
$61.87

"Star Trek Adventures finally corrects the injustice of not having a Star Trek game around at the same time Star Trek Discovery is ripping through TV sets and data streams.... the gaming experience feels exactly like Star Trek. Sit on the commander's chair, take a deep breath, and engage. Star Trek is not just back; it is here to stay." RPG.net review

Starfleet Needs A New Crew!

Welcome to your new assignment, Captain. Your continuing mission, to explore strange new worlds, seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no one has gone before…

Star Trek Adventures takes you to the Final Frontier of the Galaxy, where new discoveries await keen explorers of Starfleet. Your duties may take you to the edges of known space, or to Federation colonies in need, to the borders of neighbouring galactic powers or into the eye of interstellar phenomena. Your ship and your crew epitomise the best Starfleet and the United Federation of Planets has to offer, and you are needed more than ever.

A new threat looms from across the Gamma Quadrant, as it is confirmed by Commander Sisko and his crew that the Dominion, led by the Founders, represent a significant threat to the Alpha Quadrant. Tension is already high in the region of Bajor and Deep Space 9, as the Maquis continue to act against the Cardassian-Federation peace treaty, with Captain Janeway and the crew of the U.S.S. Voyager preparing for their mission in the Badlands. It is a volatile time for the Federation and new crews have never been in higher demand.

• Create your own Star Trek stories of discovery and adventure on the Final Frontier with 368 pages of content in the full colour PDF. 

The Star Trek Adventures Hardcover Colour Book comes in a full colour edition with black text on a white background exclusive to DTRPG!

• Complete 2d20 game system from Modiphius Entertainment adapted for Star Trek Adventures, used in Mutant ChroniclesConan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of, John Carter of Mars and the Infinity RPG.

• An extensive exploration of the United Federation of Planets and its galactic neighbours in the Alpha, Beta and Gamma Quadrants.

• Guidelines for Gamemasters old and new, on how to run an adventure of exploration and discovery for the crew of a Federation starship.

• A full catalogue of aliens and antagonists including Klingons, Romulans, Cardassians, the Borg and the Dominion.

• Brought to you by a team of expert Star Trek writers including writers from previous editions of Star Trek roleplaying games and other gaming talent.

• Personal logs and intercepted communications by Starfleet Intelligence provide a new perspective on Star Trek and its events. 

Keep hailing frequencies open to see the full range of forthcoming Star Trek Adventures  products. Hardcover supplements await along with lots of accessories including miniatures, maps, gaming tiles, dice sets and the Borg Cube Collector’s Edition game box.

Don't forget to pick up your FREE Star Trek Adventures Character sheets!

™ & © 2017 CBS Studios Inc. © 2017 Paramount Pictures Corp. STAR TREK and related marks and logos are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Exclusive Star Trek Hardcover book!

STA POD 1

STA POD 2

STA POD 3

 
 Customers who bought this title also purchased
Reviews (17)
Discussions (40)
Customer avatar
Jack K May 20, 2018 3:45 am UTC
PURCHASER
I just purchased the PDF version, and I have to say that one thing is really upsetting me. I can't even begin to understand how you can sell a PDF in 2018 and not have bookmarks? I can't even add my own bookmarks to make up for this glaring oversight, which would, itself, feel like insult to injury were it not for John D, below, claiming that an earlier release of the file DID have bookmarks. I really hope that an updated version will be made available soon, as this is really not acceptable.
Customer avatar
Jeremy M May 20, 2018 5:28 pm UTC
PURCHASER
The white on black version of the pdf has bookmarks, the fact they didn't put them in this one is pretty annoying.
Customer avatar
John D May 21, 2018 2:59 pm UTC
PURCHASER
The white-on-black PDF uploaded on May 16 does not have bookmarks, actually (well, it has three, but that's hardly sufficient).

I've emailed Modiphius's customer support as well as commenting here. The bookmarks in earlier versions of the PDFs were excellent, and I am really hoping that Modiphius can restore them (and the higher resolution scans; the resolution on the May 16 PDFs is dismal) as soon as possible.
Customer avatar
Samuel W May 22, 2018 1:31 pm UTC
Hi Jack and John

We're working to fix this at the moment as well as some spelling and grammar edits we've had highlighted to us, and will get an update out shortly.

Thanks for your patience.
Customer avatar
John D May 23, 2018 7:26 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Thanks for the update; I'll look forward to the new files.

Cheers.
Customer avatar
Jack K May 25, 2018 3:56 am UTC
PURCHASER
Thanks for the update, I'm glad to hear this is being rectified. So far I like the game and the book, but I absolutley can not stand navigating PDFs without bookmarks.
Customer avatar
John D May 29, 2018 1:23 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Any word on when we can expect the files with bookmarks and proper image resolution? Thanks.
Customer avatar
John D June 26, 2018 8:44 pm UTC
PURCHASER
It's been over a month since you gave us this update. Could we have the high resolution PDFs with bookmarks that you promised, please, or failing that, could I have my money back? This isn't how a publisher ought to treat its customers.
Customer avatar
Chris B June 27, 2018 1:29 pm UTC
PUBLISHER
Hi John, please check your files, the most recent update was 29th May, with bookmarks and a higher resolution for artwork. If there's still a problem, let us know and we'll send you a copy of the 29th May update manually.
Customer avatar
Joe M June 29, 2018 11:53 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Hi Chris,

I just saw your comment, and re-downloaded the May 29th copy of the rulebook. I'm still seeing lower resolution textures than the original rulebook PDF had, and it's coming to about 25MB where the original one was somewhere in the 30s. This is the file I downloaded: "STA_MUH051060_digital_29-5-18.pdf" I also tried downloading: "Star_Trek_Adventures_co...on_white_background.pdf" which is 39MB and does appear to have high resolution textures, but it is a white-background printer friendly version, and I cannot find a non printer-friendly version that has the high resolution textures.
Customer avatar
John D July 07, 2018 6:26 am UTC
PURCHASER
I am having the exact same problem. Please advise.

Thanks.
Customer avatar
Jack K July 11, 2018 3:20 am UTC
PURCHASER
The current version of the PDFs that I can download are all still lacking bookmarks and proper resolution artwork.
Customer avatar
Chris B July 11, 2018 11:02 am UTC
PUBLISHER
Hi Jack and John

From investigations, it seems DriveThruRPG is breaking our bookmarks upon upload. We're working with our graphic designers at the moment in an attempt to fix the issue. We're also upping the artwork resolution on your request.

If you'd like a version with bookmarks right now, please e-mail support@modiphius.com who will be able to send you a copy via SendOwl, our PDF distribution system from Modiphius.net. Otherwise, please bear with us while we resolve the issues and get another PDF uploaded.

Thanks for your patience
Sam Webb
Star Trek Adventures Line Developer
Customer avatar
July 15, 2018 9:04 am UTC
PURCHASER
There was an update on July 12th. The file sizes are a little bit larger, but the bookmarks are still nearly all missing.
Customer avatar
John D May 18, 2018 7:14 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Thanks for the updated May 2018 PDFs, but I have a few questions:

1. Where are the bookmarks? The previous files all had great bookmarks, but they're missing from this version. Could we have them back, please?

2. Is it just me, or is the resolution on some of the art poorer than it was in the last version? For example, I used to be able to read the sample character sheet on page 5, but now it's all blurry. A lot of the other art looks more pixelated too, including the front and back covers themselves. If I'm not imagining things, is it possible to get the art at a higher resolution again?

3. This may seem like nitpicking, but STA is such an outstanding game design-wise—my favorite Trek RPG so far!—and yet there are so, so many typos in the core rulebook's text. I realize/realise American and British orthography and grammar are often different, but I'm not talking about such variances; I'm talking about far too many sentences that contain errors of punctuation, capitalization,...See more
Customer avatar
John D May 18, 2018 9:24 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Addendum: It *isn't* just me: the resolution of many of the images is decidedly lower in this version of the PDF. (I checked against other, earlier versions of the file, and the difference is clear to the naked eye.) In addition to giving us back our bookmarks, could we pretty please have the nice higher-resolution art back? Thank you.
Customer avatar
Joe M June 01, 2018 11:26 pm UTC
PURCHASER
I'm just noticing this as well; I realized the files were about 2/3 the size when I opened it up I asked myself "did the cover get blurry, or do I need to clean my screen?"

I'm hoping they fix that. I should have a higher-res backup somewhere, but it won't have the latest errata.
Customer avatar
John D June 03, 2018 12:46 am UTC
PURCHASER
I will confess to some frustration. The first PDF, released last July, was clearly not ready for prime time. Okay, it happens, and PDFs can be updated.

Modiphius has been reasonably good about updating the files as errata become known, but this latest "update" contains no bookmarks, and blurs the otherwise fine art and cartography.

This is not how a professional publisher should behave, even in a niche market. Sure, mistakes happen, but Modiphius was made aware of the error—their error, remember—a full two weeks ago. Since then, we have not received any updated files fixing the mistakes they introduced. How long does it take to add an already existing table of contents, or to restore the image resolution at which they'd already published the document?

I'm not trying to be grumpy, but I don't feel we're being treated well as customers, and this is the sort of thing that significantly affects my decision as to whether to buy any more Modiphius products.
Customer avatar
John R March 21, 2018 12:40 am UTC
PURCHASER
There's 3 files associated with this:

(STA_MUH051060_digital_31-7-17.pdf)
(MUH051060_Printer_Friendly_PDF.pdf)
(Star_Trek_Adventures_core_book_black_text_on_white_background.pdf)

The third one keeps giving me an error when I try to download it.
Customer avatar
sergio P March 19, 2018 1:20 pm UTC
Could anyone tell me if the Watermarked PDF only option is printer friendly?
Customer avatar
Patrick G April 09, 2018 5:43 am UTC
PURCHASER
You get both standard and printer-friendly versions.
Customer avatar
Kai G March 11, 2018 10:14 am UTC
PURCHASER
How can I upgrade my purchased PDF to the core book and get the discount?
Customer avatar
Chris B March 11, 2018 3:02 pm UTC
PUBLISHER
Email support@modiphius.com :-)
Customer avatar
Charles S March 02, 2018 11:01 am UTC
I bought my book from Modiphius directly. We have just finished a short 4-session game using one of the adventures from Voyages vol. 1. I enjoyed the system and think it plays really well. I'd happily run more adventures and encourage people on the fence about the game to jump in. It's definitely worth it.
Customer avatar
Curtis H June 14, 2018 3:18 pm UTC
Charles S.,
How did you find your players? I am having difficulty in finding players for the game. Any suggestions?
Customer avatar
Charles S June 28, 2018 3:09 pm UTC
There was a local Meetup group that was interested in trying the game. I also had some interest on Roll20 but never ran a game there.
Customer avatar
Joseph K February 25, 2018 7:01 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Have had two players make characters, on first glance the characters/sheet/creations look like it is simple. That is not the case (which is a good thing).

Character creation has averaged around an hour, again a good thing. Because of the depth of the character creation a player doesn't end up being a cookie cutter (the PCs aren't clones of characters from the shows).

Only issue that seems to have come up both times has been with Virtues. My players were wanting more examples and "Can't I just choose one?" type of question. I haven't done a decent search but an "official" type hand out might end up being a boon.
Customer avatar
Jonas R February 17, 2018 6:24 pm UTC
I just want to play missions with the miniatures like a tabletop game. Is this covered by the rulebook?
Customer avatar
Samuel W February 19, 2018 10:39 am UTC
Hi Jonas. Those rules are in development and are intended to be released in the Operations Division supplement.
Customer avatar
Jeremy M January 16, 2018 4:39 am UTC
PURCHASER
There are no bookmarks in the black on white text version pdf. Any chance we can get those added.
Customer avatar
Donovan G January 11, 2018 10:58 pm UTC
PURCHASER
So, for a bit of backstory, my "crew" and I were running a game in the old Decipher system. I was the Storyteller, running a game about the adventures of the USS Akira, launched from Utopia Planitia in 2368. And we enjoyed it, to a point, as convoluted as the rulebooks were. Certain things didn't always line up and not everything made sense but we tried anyway. Then, near the start of December last year, I saw an interesting line in the DriveThruRPG newsletter email. "Star Trek." Intrigued, I looked further. Star Trek ADVENTURES? A new system? I looked at the free resources and was intrigued, so I bought the full core book on faith.

So the short version is that we moved all of our resources over to STA and haven't looked back. My crew is intrigued to see what else is coming!
Customer avatar
Robert L December 10, 2017 7:09 pm UTC
PURCHASER
When you make updates, can you please include a version number in the file names so that we can figure out which is the updated file and which is now out of date? At the moment there are three files, one is white on black and two are black on white and there is no apparent way to tell what the differences between them are.
Customer avatar
bill P December 08, 2017 9:59 pm UTC
PURCHASER
What do the covers look like for this printed version? The included pictures above show the insides, but not the covers.
Customer avatar
Jim J January 03, 2018 10:12 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Same cover as the PDF and the standard edition hardcover.
Customer avatar
Christopher J December 07, 2017 2:08 pm UTC
PURCHASER
The black-on-white PDF has no front and back cover, and is 340 MB. Which is weird, given the white-on-black pdf has both covers and is only 36 MB. Also, the notice from Modiphius said the PDF was updated but the time stamp still shows July.
Customer avatar
Christopher J December 08, 2017 9:32 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Never mind, they updated the update!
Customer avatar
Miguel M November 19, 2017 2:41 am UTC
PURCHASER
As the printing is updated are the PDF's also updated here?
Customer avatar
Chris B November 19, 2017 12:10 pm UTC
PUBLISHER
They are yes!
Customer avatar
Daniel M November 09, 2017 8:06 pm UTC
PURCHASER
How much of the errata is fixed in the second printing?
Customer avatar
Chris B November 09, 2017 8:44 pm UTC
PUBLISHER
All of the reported errors :-)
Customer avatar
Daniel M November 10, 2017 11:58 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Looks like the copy I got from MM was the first run, then. C'est la vie. I have a printer and label paper. XD
Customer avatar
Guy H September 27, 2017 9:30 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Are there any plans for a TOS rulebook?
Customer avatar
Chris B September 28, 2017 10:43 am UTC
PUBLISHER
Hi Guy there is a TOS based introductory box set coming in the spring and we are considering options for next year. All the books are written with a historical perspective allowing you to run TOS era games using the provided technology and ships and the rules are identical.
See 16 more
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!











Product Information
Platinum seller
Rule System(s)
Pages
374
Publisher Stock #
MUH051060-PDF
File Size:
93.9 MB
Format
Original electronic
Scanned image
These products were created by scanning an original printed edition. Most older books are in scanned image format because original digital layout files never existed or were no longer available from the publisher.

For PDF download editions, each page has been run through Optical Character Recognition (OCR) software to attempt to decipher the printed text. The result of this OCR process is placed invisibly behind the picture of each scanned page, to allow for text searching. However, any text in a given book set on a graphical background or in handwritten fonts would most likely not be picked up by the OCR software, and is therefore not searchable. Also, a few larger books may be resampled to fit into the system, and may not have this searchable text background.

For printed books, we have performed high-resolution scans of an original hardcopy of the book. We essentially digitally re-master the book. Unfortunately, the resulting quality of these books is not as high. It's the problem of making a copy of a copy. The text is fine for reading, but illustration work starts to run dark, pixellating and/or losing shades of grey. Moiré patterns may develop in photos. We mark clearly which print titles come from scanned image books so that you can make an informed purchase decision about the quality of what you will receive.
Original electronic format
These ebooks were created from the original electronic layout files, and therefore are fully text searchable. Also, their file size tends to be smaller than scanned image books. Most newer books are in the original electronic format. Both download and print editions of such books should be high quality.
File Information
Watermarked PDF
Adobe DRM-protected PDF
These eBooks are protected by Adobe's Digital Rights Management (DRM) technology. To use them, you must activate your Adobe Reader software. Click here for more details.

Watermarked PDF

These eBooks are digitally watermarked to signify that you are the owner. A small message is added to the bottom of each page of the document containing your name and the order number of your eBook purchase.

Warning: If any books bearing your information are found being distributed illegally, then your account will be suspended and legal action may be taken against you.

Here is a sample of a page from a watermarked book:

File Last Updated:
July 12, 2018
This title was added to our catalog on July 06, 2017.